Banana Snack Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
My family loves this cake, it's never around for long. We put all of the chocolate chips in the cake -- none on top, but I do top with some nuts. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2003
This is a great cake for a twist to the traditional banana bread. I made this minus the coconut and nuts and it was super! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
Oh my. Soooo good. My husband and I can't get enough of this. We left out the coconut and walnuts and it still turned out beautiful--great flavor and texture. After mashing 3 bananas, I had a quarter cup more than is called for but I used it all anyway. Worked great. This is a new family favorite! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
very tasty...I forgot the nuts but it still turned out very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRIS4FOOD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This was really yummy! I used half the butter, and replaced the other half with fat free vanilla yogurt to lower the fat a bit. I only had a cup of chocolate chips so I used the in the cake part and sprinkled brown sugar on the top instead. It was really good and gave it a crunchy-sticky topping. Next time I will sprinkle the chocolate chips and the brown sugar on it. Will definitley make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
This is a very good and a very quick cake and was enjoyed by all. I used 1/2 cup marg. and 1/2 cup applesauce rather than the 1 cup of butter. Next time I'll only use 1 cup of applesauce rather than the butter. I also added a touch of cinnamon which was nice. I added the coconut to the dry ingredients and skipped the walnuts as we are a nut-free classroom. My twin 7 year olds loved it and I will definitely be adding this cake to my "school baking" list. Enjoy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
Wonderful, full of flavor. I can't keep my husband out of it... I keep telling him if he'll let it cool the banana flavor will come through even more. My kids love it as well. I had about 1/3 c extra banana so I cut back on the butter by 3 T. I also sprinkled in a bit of cinnamon. Will become a regular in my house. In the future I think I will use just 1 c of choc chips and not put any on top. Also I plan to try w/ butterscotch chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
Ehh, nothing really special. All the ingredients sounded good, but the finished product didn't taste like any of the things I put in it, just kind of like diltued banana cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVIELOVER19

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This is awesome and has all the things in it that I love. I only used 1 1/2 cups of milk chocolate chips and will probably only use 1 cup the next time. I increased the coconut to 3/4 cup and added 1 teaspoon of coconut extract. I also left out the nuts since many of the people I know can't eat nuts. I also used shortening instead of the butter. Wonderful tasting treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by QUINNY2706
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Absolutely delish! Used dark choc chips so it wouldn't be so sweet. If you want to turn it out onto a wire rack for cooling or icing, do not put choc chips on top. Will be making this for son's birthday cake and icing it with lemon creamcheese icing. What a suprise it will be when it's cut - not the usual choc or vanilla cake inside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUINNY2706

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States