Banana Snack Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
My family loves this cake, it's never around for long. We put all of the chocolate chips in the cake -- none on top, but I do top with some nuts. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2003
This is a great cake for a twist to the traditional banana bread. I made this minus the coconut and nuts and it was super! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
Oh my. Soooo good. My husband and I can't get enough of this. We left out the coconut and walnuts and it still turned out beautiful--great flavor and texture. After mashing 3 bananas, I had a quarter cup more than is called for but I used it all anyway. Worked great. This is a new family favorite! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
very tasty...I forgot the nuts but it still turned out very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRIS4FOOD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This was really yummy! I used half the butter, and replaced the other half with fat free vanilla yogurt to lower the fat a bit. I only had a cup of chocolate chips so I used the in the cake part and sprinkled brown sugar on the top instead. It was really good and gave it a crunchy-sticky topping. Next time I will sprinkle the chocolate chips and the brown sugar on it. Will definitley make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
This is a very good and a very quick cake and was enjoyed by all. I used 1/2 cup marg. and 1/2 cup applesauce rather than the 1 cup of butter. Next time I'll only use 1 cup of applesauce rather than the butter. I also added a touch of cinnamon which was nice. I added the coconut to the dry ingredients and skipped the walnuts as we are a nut-free classroom. My twin 7 year olds loved it and I will definitely be adding this cake to my "school baking" list. Enjoy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
Wonderful, full of flavor. I can't keep my husband out of it... I keep telling him if he'll let it cool the banana flavor will come through even more. My kids love it as well. I had about 1/3 c extra banana so I cut back on the butter by 3 T. I also sprinkled in a bit of cinnamon. Will become a regular in my house. In the future I think I will use just 1 c of choc chips and not put any on top. Also I plan to try w/ butterscotch chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
Ehh, nothing really special. All the ingredients sounded good, but the finished product didn't taste like any of the things I put in it, just kind of like diltued banana cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVIELOVER19

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This is awesome and has all the things in it that I love. I only used 1 1/2 cups of milk chocolate chips and will probably only use 1 cup the next time. I increased the coconut to 3/4 cup and added 1 teaspoon of coconut extract. I also left out the nuts since many of the people I know can't eat nuts. I also used shortening instead of the butter. Wonderful tasting treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by QUINNY2706
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Absolutely delish! Used dark choc chips so it wouldn't be so sweet. If you want to turn it out onto a wire rack for cooling or icing, do not put choc chips on top. Will be making this for son's birthday cake and icing it with lemon creamcheese icing. What a suprise it will be when it's cut - not the usual choc or vanilla cake inside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUINNY2706

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States