Banana Snack Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
My gang loved this recipe!! I didn't use real butter, used Country crock light spread, also used splenda in place of the sugar. And I used milk and 1 tsp of lemon juice for the buttermilk, and for the chocolate chips, 1 1/2 cups. YUMMIE..N.L. Sault. MI.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sault Sainte Marie, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
This cake is good. In order to cut some fat and calories, I only used 1/2 cup butter and added 1/2 applesauce to make up for it. I also cut the sugar in half to only 1/2 cup. I didn't have buttermilk, so used light sour cream instead. I also used mini chocolate chips and left out the nuts and coconut. I still thought it was yummy and even my picky boys ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
My family really liked this cake. It is sooo good, very moist. But I did make a lot of changes. First we can't have dairy. So I used soymilk and added a teaspoon of apple cider vinegar to sour it. And of course non-dairy chocolate chips. I only used a little more than 3/4 cup in the cake itself and none on top. I also used only 1/3 cup coconut. Instead of eggs I used eggbeaters. One cup of butter was WAY to much so I used 4 TBSP + 3/4 cup of applesauce to make up for the rest of the lost butter. I completely left out the walnuts. I know what your thinking, this is a completely different cake, well yes but it still has the same feel as the original. I really enjoyed this cake and cant wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
very good, i only used 1 stick of butter and threw in some cinnamon applesauce and it still turned out really good....think next time I'll add some more banana for more of that flavor but overall we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by QUINNY2706
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Absolutely delish! Used dark choc chips so it wouldn't be so sweet. If you want to turn it out onto a wire rack for cooling or icing, do not put choc chips on top. Will be making this for son's birthday cake and icing it with lemon creamcheese icing. What a suprise it will be when it's cut - not the usual choc or vanilla cake inside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUINNY2706

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This is awesome and has all the things in it that I love. I only used 1 1/2 cups of milk chocolate chips and will probably only use 1 cup the next time. I increased the coconut to 3/4 cup and added 1 teaspoon of coconut extract. I also left out the nuts since many of the people I know can't eat nuts. I also used shortening instead of the butter. Wonderful tasting treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
Ehh, nothing really special. All the ingredients sounded good, but the finished product didn't taste like any of the things I put in it, just kind of like diltued banana cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVIELOVER19

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
Wonderful, full of flavor. I can't keep my husband out of it... I keep telling him if he'll let it cool the banana flavor will come through even more. My kids love it as well. I had about 1/3 c extra banana so I cut back on the butter by 3 T. I also sprinkled in a bit of cinnamon. Will become a regular in my house. In the future I think I will use just 1 c of choc chips and not put any on top. Also I plan to try w/ butterscotch chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
This is a very good and a very quick cake and was enjoyed by all. I used 1/2 cup marg. and 1/2 cup applesauce rather than the 1 cup of butter. Next time I'll only use 1 cup of applesauce rather than the butter. I also added a touch of cinnamon which was nice. I added the coconut to the dry ingredients and skipped the walnuts as we are a nut-free classroom. My twin 7 year olds loved it and I will definitely be adding this cake to my "school baking" list. Enjoy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This was really yummy! I used half the butter, and replaced the other half with fat free vanilla yogurt to lower the fat a bit. I only had a cup of chocolate chips so I used the in the cake part and sprinkled brown sugar on the top instead. It was really good and gave it a crunchy-sticky topping. Next time I will sprinkle the chocolate chips and the brown sugar on it. Will definitley make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States