Banana Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2001
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2001
I did not find this recipe dry at all! My cake turned out very moist. I did not find the rum overwhelming either. But then I like rum. I was surprised at how well the Banan tasted! I did find the frosting dry and added more butter to mine. But, then, my frostings never turn out :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
It was great! I love sweets and so did everyone that tasted this cake at my bbq. It was moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
This recipie is very moist and delicious. My family and co-workers absolutely LOVE it. I did modify the frosting in which I used a cream cheese frosting with powder sugar, I then added some cool whip and rum to lighten the frosting. I have made this for several occassions and it is always A HIT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by South Carolina Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
This is now my alltime favorite cake. I did have to change the icing some - mine was too dry. I poured a little milk in to thin it up. I also added a tiny bit of rum extract to the icing. I made this for a get together on Sunday - the cake was gone by Monday. I only had two tiny slices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Very good! I messed up the frosting (too much butter) so I used that frosting (thick) just for the top and to hold the two cakes together, then used purchased butter cream frosting for the entire cake. VERY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This recipe was awesome. I used Appleton Jamaican Rum and it turned out very very nice. I should be embarrased to admit but the cake was gone in less than 24 hours, and it was only 4 people eating it. I put mine in a bunt instead of a layer cake, and I made a rum glaze instead of frosting and it was so tasty. I'm making it again for Christmas dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
The best banana cake ever. I used a bundt pan and it took almost 50 mins to finish baking..but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
SIMPLY AWESOME! I used white cake mix and light rum because it is what I had on hand. I also smashed the pecans up into almost a powder b/c nobody here likes little pieces of nuts in their cakes. The only problem I had was with the frosting-I would suggest using 2 1/2 cups of powdered sugar to start and adding more as needed; I followed the recipe exactly and mine was so stiff that it was almost unspreadable. Otherwise, just AWESOME!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
I've made this several times--with variations-I used pineapple cake mix,increased rum to 1 cup(decrease water to 1/3 cup)--increased nuts to 3/4 cup and added 1/2 cup raisins, baked in two loaf pans for 55 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States