Banana Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
Love this cake. I did make three changes...1 cup of rum and 1/3 cup of water, instead of 2/3 of each. Also I used the Glaze from Easy Rum Cake instad of the frosting in this recipe. I will make again and again. P.S. This cake is for those of us who like the taste of rum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
The best banana cake ever. I used a bundt pan and it took almost 50 mins to finish baking..but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2001
I did not find this recipe dry at all! My cake turned out very moist. I did not find the rum overwhelming either. But then I like rum. I was surprised at how well the Banan tasted! I did find the frosting dry and added more butter to mine. But, then, my frostings never turn out :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This recipe was awesome. I used Appleton Jamaican Rum and it turned out very very nice. I should be embarrased to admit but the cake was gone in less than 24 hours, and it was only 4 people eating it. I put mine in a bunt instead of a layer cake, and I made a rum glaze instead of frosting and it was so tasty. I'm making it again for Christmas dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
SIMPLY AWESOME! I used white cake mix and light rum because it is what I had on hand. I also smashed the pecans up into almost a powder b/c nobody here likes little pieces of nuts in their cakes. The only problem I had was with the frosting-I would suggest using 2 1/2 cups of powdered sugar to start and adding more as needed; I followed the recipe exactly and mine was so stiff that it was almost unspreadable. Otherwise, just AWESOME!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Very good! I messed up the frosting (too much butter) so I used that frosting (thick) just for the top and to hold the two cakes together, then used purchased butter cream frosting for the entire cake. VERY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
I followed the directions to a tee, and even came up slightly short on the 1 cup mashed bananas, and it turned out very nice and moist. However, the rum taste is different than that of a island rum cake. If I make it again, I will make sure not to skimp on the cheap dark rum and splurge for the good stuff! I think the cheap stuff made it taste funny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSIE6381

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corcoran, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
Easy to make, but rum flavor extuingishes all other flavors. Too strong for my taste and not moist enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Made for a company picnic with Duncan Hines Banana Supreme cake mix instead of plain yellow. Was DELICIOUS! Got rave reviews and requests to bring again. Will be making it this weekend for my BFs birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mell42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I made this following the recipe, but I did use 1 cup of golden rum and ½ cup of water. The cake was so moist. It certainly has a prominent rum taste. I did not use the frosting, I did make the frosting which tasted great but in the end decided not to serve it, and just served sprinkled with powdered sugar instead. I was after more of a glaze than a frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States