Banana Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2001
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
Easy to make, but rum flavor extuingishes all other flavors. Too strong for my taste and not moist enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2001
I did not find this recipe dry at all! My cake turned out very moist. I did not find the rum overwhelming either. But then I like rum. I was surprised at how well the Banan tasted! I did find the frosting dry and added more butter to mine. But, then, my frostings never turn out :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
Easy and good! I took this to work where it disappeared VERY quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chestertown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
It was great! I love sweets and so did everyone that tasted this cake at my bbq. It was moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
This recipie is very moist and delicious. My family and co-workers absolutely LOVE it. I did modify the frosting in which I used a cream cheese frosting with powder sugar, I then added some cool whip and rum to lighten the frosting. I have made this for several occassions and it is always A HIT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by South Carolina Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
this was a very good cake, however i used rum extract instead of rum, and i found the taste to be a bit strong, i dont know if it would have been that way had i used dark rum, but i ended up adding about a ton of whipped topping to the frosting recipe and i garnished it with bannana and sprinkled some cinnamon, it helped cute the rum taste in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheWilsons

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
This is now my alltime favorite cake. I did have to change the icing some - mine was too dry. I poured a little milk in to thin it up. I also added a tiny bit of rum extract to the icing. I made this for a get together on Sunday - the cake was gone by Monday. I only had two tiny slices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
This is a great recipe! It puts a spin on your typical rum cake. I prepared mine and then cooked it in a bunt cake pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
I followed the directions to a tee, and even came up slightly short on the 1 cup mashed bananas, and it turned out very nice and moist. However, the rum taste is different than that of a island rum cake. If I make it again, I will make sure not to skimp on the cheap dark rum and splurge for the good stuff! I think the cheap stuff made it taste funny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSIE6381

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corcoran, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States