Banana Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2001
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
Easy to make, but rum flavor extuingishes all other flavors. Too strong for my taste and not moist enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2001
I did not find this recipe dry at all! My cake turned out very moist. I did not find the rum overwhelming either. But then I like rum. I was surprised at how well the Banan tasted! I did find the frosting dry and added more butter to mine. But, then, my frostings never turn out :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
Easy and good! I took this to work where it disappeared VERY quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chestertown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
It was great! I love sweets and so did everyone that tasted this cake at my bbq. It was moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
This recipie is very moist and delicious. My family and co-workers absolutely LOVE it. I did modify the frosting in which I used a cream cheese frosting with powder sugar, I then added some cool whip and rum to lighten the frosting. I have made this for several occassions and it is always A HIT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by South Carolina Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
this was a very good cake, however i used rum extract instead of rum, and i found the taste to be a bit strong, i dont know if it would have been that way had i used dark rum, but i ended up adding about a ton of whipped topping to the frosting recipe and i garnished it with bannana and sprinkled some cinnamon, it helped cute the rum taste in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheWilsons

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
This is now my alltime favorite cake. I did have to change the icing some - mine was too dry. I poured a little milk in to thin it up. I also added a tiny bit of rum extract to the icing. I made this for a get together on Sunday - the cake was gone by Monday. I only had two tiny slices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
This is a great recipe! It puts a spin on your typical rum cake. I prepared mine and then cooked it in a bunt cake pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
I followed the directions to a tee, and even came up slightly short on the 1 cup mashed bananas, and it turned out very nice and moist. However, the rum taste is different than that of a island rum cake. If I make it again, I will make sure not to skimp on the cheap dark rum and splurge for the good stuff! I think the cheap stuff made it taste funny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSIE6381

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corcoran, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States