Banana Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
The rum taste and smell was just too strong. The only good thing I can say was it was moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Show Low Bob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rotonda West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Perfect.....I used 99 bananas rum instead of dark rum. It was very moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Tasted fine, but nothing special. Probably won't make it again. I would recommend increasing the rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
This is crazy good! I made it exactly as written as a layer cake. I had the perfect amount of frosting for the middle and top of the cake and that's just the right amount to compliment this cake. The rum taste mellows overnight but if you don't like a lot of rum just omit it in the frosting. This is SO GOOD I wouldn't change a thing! I'll be making this all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
This cake is delicious! I made it for the first time today and followed the recipe exactly. I had some left over doe and made cupcakes with it. I`ve been snacking on those all day. Can`t stop myself ,they are so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I made this following the recipe, but I did use 1 cup of golden rum and ½ cup of water. The cake was so moist. It certainly has a prominent rum taste. I did not use the frosting, I did make the frosting which tasted great but in the end decided not to serve it, and just served sprinkled with powdered sugar instead. I was after more of a glaze than a frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I made this cake for my fiance on his birthday, and it was a huge hit. He likes anything that has a spice to it, and banana. This was just the perfect cake. I actually substituted the dark rum for a spiced rum, and it worked out really well. I'll definitely make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Very moist with great rum flavor that is not overpowering. I used bacardi rum (not dark rum). I also increased the rum to 1 c. and decreased the water to 1/3 c. I baked it in a bundt pan for a little over 55 minutes. I didn't frost it and instead did the rum glaze suggested with 3/4 c. powdered sugar, 1 T. skim milk, 1/8 tsp. rum extract and drizzled it over the cake. TERRIFIC!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Turned out pretty good for me! The frosting turned out really dry while following directions. I added water & it turned out great. I followed the directions for the cake & it made two gigantic round cakes. I only frosted one & put the other in the freezer. My brothers really liked it. Next time I will decorate with nuts or sliced bananas, as I was not using a bunt mold & it looked pretty plain. I used Bacardi gold for the cake & Captain Morgan spiced rum for the frosting. Next time I think I will use Captain Morgan for everything :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I made this cake in a bundt pan with coconut rum. Everyone at my work absolutely LOVED it! I added pineapple to the glaze. some people said to add more rum and add pineapple instead of banana to the mix. I will try it this way next time. Update: The pineapple instead of banana in the cake is good, however, the cake is very crumbly and falls apart when you cut it. All coconut rum instead of half water is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States