Banana Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Dazlin
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
The frosting is fantastic! I used a light coconut rum instead of dark rum, and it was great. Moist and heavy, just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This cake is very easy to make and wonderful to serve at a gathering or take to an event. (Be sure to indicate that there is alcohol in it). I add more bananas if I have more. I use about 3/4 cup of rum and a little less water to get to 1 1/3 cup of liquid. Pecans are always optional, and I opt in. They add great texture as you eat. I recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Good, easy recipe- I like rum so incr to 1 cup and 1/3 c cider, used spice cake mix, was moist and delish; didnt try the frosting tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oakton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Wowzers, this is quite 'rummy'. The good: the texture of the cake was amazing. My one cup of bananas ended up being 3 bananas, and it made the cake SO moist and delicious. The bad: now, I enjoy rum, but perhaps not quite this much. I would probably drop this down to 1/3 c rum, and make up the rest with water. And that's just the cake. Let's talk about the frosting. One word: NO. Too much rum. I'm sorry, and perhaps my proportions were off or something, but this was WAYYY too rummy for us. And we like booze, so that must be saying something. ;) It was hard to eat that same day. By the next day, the rum frosting had tamed a bit, so it was slightly better. Overall, the recipe was just ok. The cake has potential though, particularly with how moist it is. I might just make a different topping next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonoma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
omg this was awesome! didn't make the frosting b/c we didn't really feel it needed anything.. took the advice of Budget Mom and used 1 c rum and 1/3 c water.. used a spiced rum instead of the dark.. used walnuts instead of pecans.. i completely disagree with some of the reviewers saying the rum takes over all the other flavors.. i can taste the banana, the walnuts, and the yellow cake.. the flavors meld together beautifully balanced.. ty so much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Amazing cake!! The whole family loved it!! Everyone went back for seconds(and thirds). I can't tell you how many people have asked me for the recipe!! Will certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Family request this be repeated
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luvz2cook
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This recipe was a HIT on Mother's Day! I did not change one thing and I DID use the icing. There was not one slice left at the end of the evening. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvz2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Made for a company picnic with Duncan Hines Banana Supreme cake mix instead of plain yellow. Was DELICIOUS! Got rave reviews and requests to bring again. Will be making it this weekend for my BFs birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mell42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This cake is always a smash hit! You can definitely taste the rum. I prefer to use a spice cake mix instead of yellow cake, but you can't go wrong either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States