Banana Rum Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This was my first attempt at biscotti and I am glad I chose this recipe because it was written so well. Everything about it was perfect. I did use walnuts as it was all I had. I also dipped the finished product in chocolate and rolled in nuts as I love chocolate and thought it would go well with banana and rum flavor. Thank you so much Sueb for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I am by no means a biscotti expect but I do tend to bake at least one batch a week. Just love this recipe, I did change it slightly. Not that it needed changing but to meet my own requirements. I used 2 tablespoons of Bacardi Gold rum and also added ½ cup of mini semi-sweet chocolate chips, used the rest of the ingredients as stated. Mixed the batter as per the recipe (smelled delicious) but as I use a large baking sheet I only make 2 logs. Split my batter in half in the KA and then working with each log separately, I kneed in a small amount of flour into each log on the counter, I then kneed for a minute until smooth, once smooth I roll out the log like a sausage, place this on the wax paper and press down to ½ inch thick on the baking tray. I find this easier to deal with rather than rolling flat and then moving to the baking tray. I bake for 30 minutes until golden brown, remove from the oven. When cooling I move the wax paper containing the biscotti off the baking tray and place it straight on the cooling rack, I cut with a serrated knife after 8 minutes of cooling. I bake at FULL temperature for a further 15 minutes on each side. I made an unbelievable 50 Biscotti from this batch. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe sueb @//-_-\\@
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Whoa, this batter is super sticky. But flouring my hands helped quite a bit. I halved the recipe (made them into mini biscotti) and omitted the rum and they turned out great. My only complaint is that they got stale very quickly (less than 12 hours) and I wonder if they should have dried out in the oven a bit longer...?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I couldn't stop eating these when they came out of the oven! I like really soft biscotti, so I didn't bake them twice...I don't think I could of waited that long anyway! These are so good warm!Thanks Sueb for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Very nice. I can't help thinking a touch of cinnamin and vanilla or rum flavor would be nice. Very sticky so I suggest keeping hands wet while molding loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Made as directed... I think they'd be better if they were baked until they were dry throughout, not soft on the inside. That made it seem like they weren't baked correctly and it made them seem stale after just a day. Would try again, baking longer and maybe adding a nice drizzle of melted chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
YUM. I also added the mini choco chips and should have doubled the rum...next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anniemac7

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Romeo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
tasted great the first day, but like another reviewer said - they got stale VERY quickly! got kind of soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LEERYUNG
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
yum! this is delicious. i've always made it with a different recipe but i think this one is better! should use this one from now on. however, i changed it a little. i omitted rum, and added vanila extract. i only used 60g of white sugar, and added almonds and chocolate chips. other then that, i did exactly as the recipe. it's so crispy and yum! and i recommend to those who says it gets soggy to bake a little bit longer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I didn't have pecans or rum, so I substituted with walnuts and vanilla, and this was great. Very nice banana flavor-not too much, but definitely there. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamagillett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States