Banana Raisin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Delicious! Great and easy recipe. I was looking at making my cranberry banana bread and came across this recipe. 1st time using my new bundt pan. Used dried cranberries instead and it just was so yummy. Partner said it was the best dessert I ever made!! Just have to make sure you watch the baking time because mine was done before the hour and a half was finished. Checked at 1 hour and had to leave in for another 15 just to make sure the cake was completely baked through. Otherwise a delicious addition to my baking list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Shamong, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Delicious, I made into muffins for breakfast, 12 muffins baked perfectly 350, for 45 mins. I used vegetable oil instead. I also topped them with a lemon glaze made from 3/4 cup of confectioners sugar and the juice of 1 lemon. I also soaked the raisin in water for 10 mins to soften them before adding them to the batter, I have seen that in other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
This is excellent! Very dense and moist. I followed the suggestion for half brown sugar, plus I always soak my raisins in 2 tablespoons of rum (or any liquour). Terrific recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
My wife's favorite, definetly worth 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I have now made this cake several times, and it is always a big hit in my house. I agree that it is really banana bread, not so much cake- but as long as you know to expect that it's REALLY good banana bread. One major recipe change: it only takes 45 minutes to an hour to bake, I can't imagine how dry it would be after 1 1/2 hours! Also, I don't have a bundt pan, so I use a baking tray.. a little smaller than 9 X 13. The first time I made it I couldn't find the raisins so I used "fruit bits" instead (little pieces of dried fruit by Sun Maid), and it was incredible, so I've repeated that variation. Once I made it with raisins and it was also good. I think I've always used about half white and half brown sugar. Last time I made it with half the sugar overall so that I could give it to my one-year old- it was less sweet, but still good. The baby loved it and my husband actually liked it that way, but I prefer the sweeter version. And I usually add some nutmeg, because my husband thinks everything with cinnamon should also have nutmeg, and he's the chef around here. I really love this recipe, it is so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Good but needed frosting. I would use cream cheese frosting. The cake has the same consistancy of banana bread w/o the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This was a very yummy cake, Will make again, again, I cut the Baking soda in 1/2, and used the other 1/2 as baking powder. Had a bit of a time getting it out of mold, But it was worth the fight. It was so moist and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
The first time I made this cake it had a lingering baking soda taste that was unpleasant. The second time around I omitted the baking soda and used 1/2 a tbsp of baking powder instead. The cake was much better. I reduced the baking time to an hour and 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanieMomof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
This cake was great. I cut the cooking time to an hour and 15 minutes and it came out beautifully. I will definitely make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Good cake consistancy. Very versatile cake. I would make it again but add more bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetSugar27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States