Banana Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I made this recipe using a cake pan since I didn't have a loaf pan. It worked fast and great! I used xylitol (natural sugar alcohol with a GI of 8) in place of the sugar, only 1/3 c honey, and whole wheat pastry flour. I also squeezed in a clementine orange, since we had these on hand. It was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Bushka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
awesome. a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeatherMaven

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
oh heavens is this good ! I used a miniature loaf pan that turns out 8 small bread loaves and cooking for 25 min made them just perfect ! I also baked a full loaf for the time specified in the reciped and it also turned out lovely. These little darlings will go in all my Xmas presents this year. For now they are snuggled up in my freezer while i enjoy the smells of the season the bread left in my house. I added a touch of Ground Cloves and instead of nutz i put in orange flavoured Craisins. HOORAY !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrueNorthCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I am giving this 5 stars as a muffin recipe! I looooved the taste of combining pumpkin with banana. It was very unique. My changes are: 5T butter instead of vegetable oil; 1t of vanilla; 2t of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lintacious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
The recipe needs some work, but not a bad overall flavour. I used applesauce in place of the veggie oil, only used about 1/3 of a cup and bit of sugar as the applesauce was sweetened, dropped the salt to 1/8 of the teaspoon sprinkled the top with brown sugar. Like the other reviewers said, the cooking temperature and time is way off. At 400 for about 40 mins, the top came out perfect with just a touch of gooey-ness on the inside. If or when I make this again, I would bake it for 50 mins, and add some nutmeg. It also yielded 2 and 1/2 loaves for me. Definitely don't fill the pan more than 1/2 way full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dayle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petrolia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Great easy recipe - the kids love it! Dan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
As most stated, the cooking time is way off. I even baked with a convection oven and I still had to bake the bread for about 75 minutes. The recipe suggests to mix just until combined, I think in the future I will mix it a little more. For some reason most of my spices settled down to the bottom and the lower crust of the bread had a very strong taste. I'm sure that was due in some way to an error of mine. Maybe next time I will try them as muffins or split into 2 pans because of the uncertainty of cooking time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
My husband loved this bread, but I thought it could have used a bit more flavor. I left out the honey though because I didn't have any, so that could be why. To fix the time issue, I split the recipe into two smaller loaf pans and it got done in about 50 minutes. I will probably make this again and try it with the honey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrabbApple

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I made a combination of this recipe and a pumpkin cheese bread it came out really good! very unique taste !!! nothing like store bought bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Fantastic flavour, holds up really well with slicing and leaving it out for a few days, and tastes best with a little honey spead on it!! Had to bake mine for ten minutes more than the recommended so definitely test to make sure it's done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harpersfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States