Banana Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I was looking for a guilt free vehicle to put cream cheese on and this is it. I did change the recipe slightly ... substituting unsweetened apple sauce for the oil and using only the honey to sweeten the bread (no white sugar). I was a little bit worried but the bread is absolutely wonderful ... doesn't even need the cream cheese! Based off of previous reviews I used half the batter to make a small loaf and the other half I used for muffins. Everything cooked up just fine in 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
My officemates loved this recipe. I had some leftover batter and made muffins, which I baked for a shorter time. I also exchanged some of the white flour for whole wheat and corn flour to give it a bit more fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
P.S. after reading other reviews, I put about 3/4 of the batter into the bread pan and made the rest into about 6 muffins. This way the bread cooked all the way through and didn't take too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GarlicQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I loved the spongy texture of the bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Very good1 Nice and moist and just what I was looking for in a pumpking bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
After cooking for well over 1hr 20 minutes at 350 degrees, the outside was hard and nearly burnt and the inside was still undercooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Oops - I forgot the cinnamon! Oh well. I took the advice here and changed honey for brown sugar, used 1 c whole wheat flour for some of the white flour, only 1/4 c of oil, and added 1 t of vanilla. I also added 1/4 c of pecans and 1/4 c of chocolate chips. I put it into 2 loaf pans and am starting with 20 min for baking. We'll see!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I forgot to add that I added about 1 tsp. of nutmeg (to a quadrupled recipe) and I think it was just the right amt. (Because I did not have pumpkin spice). With 1 tbsp. cinnamon, it's hardly over powering. These muffins are almost buttery on their own. I did keep the oven at 350 and started the 2 loaf pans on the very top rack and the muffins below. I think that helped keep the outside of the loaves from getting too dark. The inside loaves are perfect after baking for just over 45 min. WOW! :) :) :) We have a Whirlpool oven and live in a relatively speaking high altitude.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Don't give up on this recipe because of the cooking time- a few tips: Sift your flour into the measuring cup, or fluff with a fork. Too much and it will be too dense and not cook through. Raise the temp to 365 for the after the first half hour for about 15 minutes, then back to 350 for the last 15 minutes- mine had a lovely crown. I use self-rising flour in bread recipes- omit the leavening and salt. It makes a much less gummy batter. As far as flavor, I didn't have pumpkin pie spice, so I used 1tsp. each clove and nutmeg along with the cinnamon. I also added 1tsp. orange extract- it brings out the banana. It makes a very nice loaf, and is a great, not overly sweet basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I made this recipe using a cake pan since I didn't have a loaf pan. It worked fast and great! I used xylitol (natural sugar alcohol with a GI of 8) in place of the sugar, only 1/3 c honey, and whole wheat pastry flour. I also squeezed in a clementine orange, since we had these on hand. It was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Bushka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States