Banana Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Oops - I forgot the cinnamon! Oh well. I took the advice here and changed honey for brown sugar, used 1 c whole wheat flour for some of the white flour, only 1/4 c of oil, and added 1 t of vanilla. I also added 1/4 c of pecans and 1/4 c of chocolate chips. I put it into 2 loaf pans and am starting with 20 min for baking. We'll see!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I forgot to add that I added about 1 tsp. of nutmeg (to a quadrupled recipe) and I think it was just the right amt. (Because I did not have pumpkin spice). With 1 tbsp. cinnamon, it's hardly over powering. These muffins are almost buttery on their own. I did keep the oven at 350 and started the 2 loaf pans on the very top rack and the muffins below. I think that helped keep the outside of the loaves from getting too dark. The inside loaves are perfect after baking for just over 45 min. WOW! :) :) :) We have a Whirlpool oven and live in a relatively speaking high altitude.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Don't give up on this recipe because of the cooking time- a few tips: Sift your flour into the measuring cup, or fluff with a fork. Too much and it will be too dense and not cook through. Raise the temp to 365 for the after the first half hour for about 15 minutes, then back to 350 for the last 15 minutes- mine had a lovely crown. I use self-rising flour in bread recipes- omit the leavening and salt. It makes a much less gummy batter. As far as flavor, I didn't have pumpkin pie spice, so I used 1tsp. each clove and nutmeg along with the cinnamon. I also added 1tsp. orange extract- it brings out the banana. It makes a very nice loaf, and is a great, not overly sweet basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I made this recipe using a cake pan since I didn't have a loaf pan. It worked fast and great! I used xylitol (natural sugar alcohol with a GI of 8) in place of the sugar, only 1/3 c honey, and whole wheat pastry flour. I also squeezed in a clementine orange, since we had these on hand. It was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karol Wojtyla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
awesome. a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeatherMaven

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
oh heavens is this good ! I used a miniature loaf pan that turns out 8 small bread loaves and cooking for 25 min made them just perfect ! I also baked a full loaf for the time specified in the reciped and it also turned out lovely. These little darlings will go in all my Xmas presents this year. For now they are snuggled up in my freezer while i enjoy the smells of the season the bread left in my house. I added a touch of Ground Cloves and instead of nutz i put in orange flavoured Craisins. HOORAY !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrueNorthCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I am giving this 5 stars as a muffin recipe! I looooved the taste of combining pumpkin with banana. It was very unique. My changes are: 5T butter instead of vegetable oil; 1t of vanilla; 2t of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lintacious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
The recipe needs some work, but not a bad overall flavour. I used applesauce in place of the veggie oil, only used about 1/3 of a cup and bit of sugar as the applesauce was sweetened, dropped the salt to 1/8 of the teaspoon sprinkled the top with brown sugar. Like the other reviewers said, the cooking temperature and time is way off. At 400 for about 40 mins, the top came out perfect with just a touch of gooey-ness on the inside. If or when I make this again, I would bake it for 50 mins, and add some nutmeg. It also yielded 2 and 1/2 loaves for me. Definitely don't fill the pan more than 1/2 way full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dayle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petrolia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Great easy recipe - the kids love it! Dan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
As most stated, the cooking time is way off. I even baked with a convection oven and I still had to bake the bread for about 75 minutes. The recipe suggests to mix just until combined, I think in the future I will mix it a little more. For some reason most of my spices settled down to the bottom and the lower crust of the bread had a very strong taste. I'm sure that was due in some way to an error of mine. Maybe next time I will try them as muffins or split into 2 pans because of the uncertainty of cooking time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States