Banana Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I made these into mini muffins baked at 350 for 20 minutes which was PERFECT. Tastes much better the next day. I used 1/2 c. brown sugar instead of honey (didn't have any) and closer to 3 bananas. I also experimented and added various toppings before baking such as a sprinkle of coconut flakes, mini choc chips and finely chopped macadamia nuts (that were mixed with some sugar & cinnamon). Fun, tasty variety! Didn't use raisins either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This is a great and simple recipe. I substitued flax seed in place of the eggs and it was fabulous. My boys loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I have made dozens of recipes from this site and i had to create a membership just so i could review this one. This recipe is goooood. I didnt have pumpkin pie spice so i doubled the cinnamon and added a teaspoon of nutmeg and a sprinkle of ginger. No raisins or nuts per preference. Of note, i have made this as a loaf and as mini muffins. The loaf was a flop as it was mushy on the inside and dry on the outside. The mini muffins were amazing. If you half the recipe, it makes 24 fluffy mini muffins. Cook at 350 for about 12 minutes. You can even be lazy with this recipe and use self-rising flour and stir all ingredients at once with a wisk (no need to get out mixer) and it is still delicious and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I think the banana pumpkin combo is great! I use homemade pumpkin puree. From what I can tell, the only bad thing about this recipe is the 9X5 pan and the cooking time. As suggested by others, I divided the batter between two slightly smaller pans, and I have also used 4 mini loaf pans--both times baked for about 55 minutes. Perfect--no goo in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Would have been great if it hadn't been raw. Cooked it an extra 1/2 hour and still goo in the middle. Very dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
this is a great recipe if you are baking pumpkin pie and have too much pumpkin puree. I added walnuts and chocolate chips. was very moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadine James

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Followed JIVE TURKEY's recommendation and split the batter into two loaf pans (plenty of batter for each). Turned the temp up to 375 instead of 350. They both cooked perfectly in 47 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I did alter the recipe a bit but it turned out FANTASTIC!!! I made jumbo muffins stuffed with cream cheese. I swear...I will never eat another store bought muffin again! Changes I made were: applesauce for oil, half honey half maple syrup (I ran out), didn't have pumpkin pie spice so used allspice, nutmeg and cloves and used 1/2 c. oats for the flour. Sooo good and will definitely make again. **also these do not need a paper cup as it will stick...just grease the muffin pan**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I was so glad to find this recipe as I had some bananas and left over sweet potato that needed to be used. Because I used sweet potato instead of pumpkin the flavor was probably lighter, but I was also able to cut the amount of sugar as sweet potatoes are plenty sweet on their own. I substituted brown sugar for honey, as I was out, and only used 1/4 C. of brown sugar and 1/4C. of white sugar. I also used 3 mashed bananas as recommended by other reviewers and used a combination of ginger, nutmeg and ground cloves in substitution for the pumpkin spice. Oh, and I had a batch of walnut streusel topping in the freezer so I added a C. of that to the top =) The cooking time I needed for a toothpick to come out clean was 65 mins. We ate some fresh from the oven and it was yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen-uine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Wow this bread turned out so well, it was so flavorful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States