Banana Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I love the flavor of this bread, I can taste both the banana and the pumpkin! I had to take away a star however, because there is something wrong with the baking time/temp. I ended up having to bake mine for 70 minutes. I then covered it tightly with aluminum foil for the 10 minutes it cools in the pan after taking it out of the oven. This helped to seal in the heat and finish baking it before it got too brown on top. It worked! It came out looking lovely and was very moist. The only other change I made was to replace 1 cup of flour with whole wheat flour to make it more wholesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This is an excellent bread. It needs to be put into two smaller loaf pans though - in just one pan it's a huge bread that needs more than an hour to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I made this recipe with good results. A moist tender bread, with a nice pumpkin banana flavor. The adjustments I made were to puree the pumpkin, banana and sugar in the vitamix until smooth. I then mixed in the eggs and dry ingredients, but I omitted the butter. Lastly I took raisins that had soaked in grape juice for 2 hours and stirred them in at the last minute. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
realy good..husband loves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canyon, Texas, USA
Living In: Granby, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I made a wheat-free, gluten-free version that turned out great! Having tried a few gluten free baking mixes, I found Pamela's Baking & Pancake Mix the best. Eliminate the oil, baking powder, and baking soda. Other changes (as recommended by others): increased banana to 3 and cooked in mini muffin tins about 20 minutes. I made half with raisins (some of my kids don't like raisins). A big hit! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boone, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I was looking for a guilt free vehicle to put cream cheese on and this is it. I did change the recipe slightly ... substituting unsweetened apple sauce for the oil and using only the honey to sweeten the bread (no white sugar). I was a little bit worried but the bread is absolutely wonderful ... doesn't even need the cream cheese! Based off of previous reviews I used half the batter to make a small loaf and the other half I used for muffins. Everything cooked up just fine in 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
My officemates loved this recipe. I had some leftover batter and made muffins, which I baked for a shorter time. I also exchanged some of the white flour for whole wheat and corn flour to give it a bit more fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
P.S. after reading other reviews, I put about 3/4 of the batter into the bread pan and made the rest into about 6 muffins. This way the bread cooked all the way through and didn't take too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GarlicQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I loved the spongy texture of the bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Very good1 Nice and moist and just what I was looking for in a pumpking bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States