Banana Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
GREAT!! I used applesauce instead of sugar and then through in chocolate chips instead of raisins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellsworth, Maine, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I love this recipe! I used 3 ripe bananas, and 1/4 cup of applesauce instead of oil. I used 1/4 cup honey and 2 tablespoons of agave syrup, but no white sugar at all. I also added 1/4 cup of chopped walnuts and rasins. WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I make this bread all the time. Usually I use 3 bananas and a whole 15 oz can of pumpkin puree, and twice the spices that the recipe says. But, I put the batter into TWO bread pans, or else it takes like an hour and 20 minutes to bake and burns the crust. In two pans, it turns out perfect, in basically 45 minutes. Usually a little more still though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
After reading the reviews for this, I decided to go with muffins instead of the usual bread pan. It took about 35 minutes for them to cook, but once they were done, they are absolutely amazing. I put a little bit more banana in it than it called for, and used 1 teaspoon cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon ginger, and 1/4 teaspoon of both cloves and nutmeg instead of the 2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice (as I didn't have any), and it tasted great. It's even better with a little bit of melted margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armandleg

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I made these into mini muffins baked at 350 for 20 minutes which was PERFECT. Tastes much better the next day. I used 1/2 c. brown sugar instead of honey (didn't have any) and closer to 3 bananas. I also experimented and added various toppings before baking such as a sprinkle of coconut flakes, mini choc chips and finely chopped macadamia nuts (that were mixed with some sugar & cinnamon). Fun, tasty variety! Didn't use raisins either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This is a great and simple recipe. I substitued flax seed in place of the eggs and it was fabulous. My boys loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I have made dozens of recipes from this site and i had to create a membership just so i could review this one. This recipe is goooood. I didnt have pumpkin pie spice so i doubled the cinnamon and added a teaspoon of nutmeg and a sprinkle of ginger. No raisins or nuts per preference. Of note, i have made this as a loaf and as mini muffins. The loaf was a flop as it was mushy on the inside and dry on the outside. The mini muffins were amazing. If you half the recipe, it makes 24 fluffy mini muffins. Cook at 350 for about 12 minutes. You can even be lazy with this recipe and use self-rising flour and stir all ingredients at once with a wisk (no need to get out mixer) and it is still delicious and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I think the banana pumpkin combo is great! I use homemade pumpkin puree. From what I can tell, the only bad thing about this recipe is the 9X5 pan and the cooking time. As suggested by others, I divided the batter between two slightly smaller pans, and I have also used 4 mini loaf pans--both times baked for about 55 minutes. Perfect--no goo in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Would have been great if it hadn't been raw. Cooked it an extra 1/2 hour and still goo in the middle. Very dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
this is a great recipe if you are baking pumpkin pie and have too much pumpkin puree. I added walnuts and chocolate chips. was very moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadine James

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States