Banana Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Patrick Luce
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
This bread is delicious!!!! I was looking for a recipe that used bananas and canned pumpkin to get rid of some of my Thanksgiving over-stock. This was the perfect recipe! Changes I made: I used 3 bananas instead of 2, allspice instead of pumpkin pie spice and only 1 tsp of that, and I added a tsp. of vanilla. Also, only used 1/4 c. of oil. Baked in mini-muffin pans for about 20 min. Thanks for the great recipe/idea! I would have never put banana and pumpkin together but it works wonderfully in this bread! Also, used 1/2 cup light brown sugar in lieu of the honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
255 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
I love this recipe! The changes I've made address the already noted difficulty with cooking time. I divide the recipe into 2- 4"x10" loaf pans and it takes about 50 to 55 min. I have also added diced candied ginger and it complimented the banana and pumpkin beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
This is a great bread, and easy to make, too. I can't praise it enough. I can taste the banana, pumpkin and honey in every bite. I put a lot of golden raisins in it and it is just the best quick bread I ever made/ate. It did need to bake longer than the recipe indicated - more like an hour rather than 45 minutes. Rating: Five stars +
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
I have been making this recipe for months now...a favorite! Works with fresh OR canned pumpkin, though I throw in an bit more banana. I also use whole wheat flour instead of white flour and it stays moist and lovely. I have also made this as a straight banana bread, by replacing the pumpkin with more mashed banana- it makes the best banana bread I have ever had. Highly recommended for a healthy quick bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
I really liked this bread but banana and pumpkin are both very strong flavors. Mixed together, they kind of cancelled each other out and I couldn't taste a lot of either. I would use either all bananas or all pumpkin in this recipe. I made it lighter by replacing the oil with the same amount of applesauce and using half real sugar and half Splenda sugar substitute. Also, I baked the bread for 60 mins and it wasn't done. I recommend at least 70 mins because mine fell and was heavier because it wasn't all the way done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
The bread had a nice flavor, but turned out uncooked and gooey, even though I baked it for way longer than the 45 minutes. Because of the nice flavor, I think the bread has potential. I will try the recipe again, but with a higher cooking temperature. I'll let you all know how it turns out. Addendum: I baked the bread at 400 degrees for 30 minutes and lowered the temperature to 350 degrees for the remaining 30 minutes. The bread did cook, but was a bit dark on the outside. It tasted pretty good on the inside though. I think the trick here is to only fill the pan about 1/3 full. It might bake up nicely at the 350 degree temperature in the original recipie if the amount to be baked is not too dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NNNNN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
I loved this recipe!! I would not consider it low fat though at 7 Grams per serving (1/12th of recipe). I substituted 3/4 cup of oatmeal for 3/4 cups of the flour. I also felt I needed to bake it for more like an hour rather than 45 minutes. Taste got high ratings at my house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
The oven temperature setting +/or the cooking time for this recipe isn't right! Like many of the other reviews have stated it just doesn't get cooked all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
Well, I was pretty disappointed in this one. The banana flavor was completely lost and like others, I had the problem of it not cooking completely even though I left it in for an extra 20 minutes. The outside was turning black so I had to take it out. The flavor was okay but between what was not cooked on the inside and what was burnt on the outside, there wasn't much to eat. Maybe muffins would be the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
To get this bread to bake properly, reduce the oven temperature to 325 degrees and bake for about 90 minutes. Low and slow is the way to go for ALL quick breads! Other reviewers who complain about the outside being black and the inside being doughy are adjusting the wrong way. Turn that oven down! I made this bread according to the recipe, omitting the raisins, and adjusted the oven temp and cook time as I have stated. I'm enjoying a perfectly baked slice now! I prefer quick bread recipes that contain sour cream or buttermilk, but this is a very nice loaf. I have never seen honey used in a quick bread before. Four stars from me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRADYSMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakeview, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States