Banana Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
verdict is still out since it's in the oven. I thought 1 cup of sweetener was excessive w/ all that ripe banana, so I did 1/4 cup honey (and 1/2 cup is expensive!) and 1/4 cup raw sugar. Used 1 C oats, 1 1/4 C spelt flour instead of white flour. Used half the oil and coconut oil instead of toxic vegetable oil, and threw in a couple spoonfuls of homemade pear/applesauce as well. Used cinnamon, allspice, cloves, ginger, and nutmeg. I went for the two-short-loaves method- they looked pretty wimpy batter wise, but didn't want to risk 1 1/2 hours and a burnt top/gooey center! So I'm watching them closely, going to start checking at 35 minutes. (oh, and 325) Can't wait for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bhappe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
after reading the reviews and that bread was gooey --I just made 2 loafs with this one batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I turned this Gluten Free with 1 Cup of Maplegrove Farms all purpose baking mix and the rest EnerG potato starch flour. Cooked it in the crock pot on low. VEry good results..could not tell it was GF
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Unimpressive. I made this recipe into muffins, and the finished product stuck to the paper baking cups like glue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICOLE518

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Prospect, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Delicious! My husband cannot stop talking about how delicious the bread is. I substituted brown sugar for the white and used mostly whole wheat flour. I made a double batch and cooked both in the oven for 1 hour and 5 minutes. They are perfect and moist and the pumpkin and banana really blend well. Just fyi, i would consider this much more pumpkiny than bananay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
A big hit! I served it as a dessert with some cream cheese frosting. This bread is really moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I did the same as some of the others, by adding Allspice as well as Pumpkin pie spice and more sweetener (White Karo). Regarding the baking issue, I split the batter into 2 pans, baked it at 350 for the 45 minutes and had no problem. This bread did come out very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
LOVED this recipe! I will definitely be making this again and again. The bread is moist and dense with a great flavor. I did make some adjustments. I used brown sugar instead of honey, a dash of nutmeg and a dash of ground cloves instead of pumpkin pie spice, 3 bananas instead of 2, applesauce instead of oil, and whole wheat flour. So that is a number of changes, but it came out great. Just bake for about one hour at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Cooking it an extra 15 minutes still didn't completely set it. I added more spice than called for, and it was without flavor. I still can't figure out how pumpkin plus bananas plus spices and sugar = no taste, but somehow this recipe does it. My toddler took one bite and walked away from it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I give this recipe 5 stars. I used 1 c. white flour and 1 ½ c. whole wheat flour which resulted in a nice consistency. I was low on honey and used a combination of honey, brown sugar, and white sugar. I changed the spices to 1 t. pumpkin pie spice, 1/2 t. allspice, 1/2 t. cloves, and 1 t. cinnamon. I baked in a muffin pan at 350 degrees for around 25 minutes. Delicious and nutritious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States