Banana Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Good recipe which can be easily adapted. I added extra pumpkin, cut the sugar in half, and used half whole wheat flour. I also cut the oil in half and added applesauce. Rather than adding walnuts to the batter, I sprinkled them on top along with a powdered sugar glaze. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
it's missing something, but i cant quite put my finger on it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Excellent...I use whole wheat flour. Only change I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 7 Garcias

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provincetown, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Excellent basic recipe that I modified based on other reviews. Here's my version: had only one can of pumpkin, so added 1/3 c. Greek style vanilla yogurt; used brown sugar instead of honey; used slightly less than 1/2 c white sugar and added 1 T maple syrup; for flour, used: 1 c all-purpose flour, 3/4 c whole wheat flour, 1/2 c. oats, 1/4 c. wheat germ; added 1/2 t. allspice; used craisins instead of raisins; included walnuts. (all other ingredients were same as original recipe) Made 12 muffins (20 min) and 24 mini-muffins (13 min). Turned out perfectly! Think I'll add diced apple next time... Yum! Thanks to the original submitter and all the reviewers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I made this last night. And had to try it as soon as it cooled. And this is now my new banana bread that I will be making for now on. Soooo moist, and tasty too. Had it for breakfast.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This recipe needs some work. The baking time/temp for a loaf of bread is not right. I ended up leaving it in a lot longer than 45 minutes, until the top began to turn black, but the center was still not cooked. Because the bread puffed up so much above the pan, I sliced off the blackened top to level with the pan, and put it back in. It finally cooked all the way through, and it had a pretty good taste, although I might adjust some of the spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This is the best pumpkin bread I have tried yet! It is so moist and flavorful. Even my husband, who doesn't care for pumpkin, raved about it. Unfortunately, I am a health nut so I don't let myself splurge often on this recipe. I will be playing with it to make it a little healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
verdict is still out since it's in the oven. I thought 1 cup of sweetener was excessive w/ all that ripe banana, so I did 1/4 cup honey (and 1/2 cup is expensive!) and 1/4 cup raw sugar. Used 1 C oats, 1 1/4 C spelt flour instead of white flour. Used half the oil and coconut oil instead of toxic vegetable oil, and threw in a couple spoonfuls of homemade pear/applesauce as well. Used cinnamon, allspice, cloves, ginger, and nutmeg. I went for the two-short-loaves method- they looked pretty wimpy batter wise, but didn't want to risk 1 1/2 hours and a burnt top/gooey center! So I'm watching them closely, going to start checking at 35 minutes. (oh, and 325) Can't wait for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bhappe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
after reading the reviews and that bread was gooey --I just made 2 loafs with this one batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I turned this Gluten Free with 1 Cup of Maplegrove Farms all purpose baking mix and the rest EnerG potato starch flour. Cooked it in the crock pot on low. VEry good results..could not tell it was GF
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States