Banana Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Turned out very nice! Very moist and flavorful (although I only added 1.5 teaspoons of the pumpkin pie spice, a bit more banana and less pumpkin, and a bit more than the 1/4 teaspoon salt the recipe called for). It ended up baking for about 51 minutes. The only gooey bits consisted of chunks of banana that were not smashed up enough. Will use this recipe in the future -- maybe I'll add chocolate chips next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Withy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I will admit that I took a shortcut and used 2 cups of Bisquick and 1/4 cup oil instead of the flour, baking soda, baking powder and 1/3 cup oil. I also made individual muffins so I cut back the time to 20 minutes and made 2 batches of 12 muffins. They were GREAT!!! Love this recipe and so glad to be able to use the pumpkin left over from our Thanksgiving feast. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marybcurlyq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I added 1/2 cup ground flax (in place of 1/2 cup flour) and 1/3 cup hemp protein powder and lowered the sweeteners a bit for a really healthy and yummy snack for my young kids. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
It was a very dense bread and my kids weren't into it like they are when I make the Downeast Maine recipe off this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momzilla
Home Town: Sycamore, Kansas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Agree w/ those who say double the spices. If you don't have pumpkin pie spice (I don't), mix your own with 4 parts cinnamon, one part each of ginger, allspice and ground cloves, and 1/2 part nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Delicious! I added a bit extra of the spices as suggested, used 3 bananas instead of 2, and baked for 50 minutes. It came out perfectly! Moist, chewy, and flavorful. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
If you prepare this recipe as directed it will not cook through. I doubled the cooking time to 90 min and it was finally done. It is wrong to rate this five stars and change the recipe because some folks (me) will prepare it without reading the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking_girl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Delicious and healthy. I made these to use up bananas and canned pumpkin. I made them according to the recipe except I cut the sugar. I trippled the recipe, because I had a lot of bananas to use. Triple recipe gave me 80 muffins. I made muffins to put in my kids lunches, packs easier than bread. I only added 1/2 cup sugar total for the trippled recipe. I also added white chocolate chips, which made it a very yummy desert-ish. I didn't add the optional raisins or walnuts, but added an extra banana because they seemed small. I also used duck eggs instead of chicken eggs. That was what I had on hand and they are supposed to make everything fluffier because of the extra egg white. They are delicious. I baked them for around 15 minutes at 350-degrees and they were perfect. Not sure how this would turn out as a loaf, but it was terrific as muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This recipe is great and I made it GLUTEN FREE. I tweaked it by adding 2 extra bananas, 1/4 cup of olive oil instead 1/3 cup of vegetable oil, 1/3 cup shredded coconut, a dash of ground cloves and some dark choc chips! Also substituted rice flour to make it gluten free!! Made wonderful muffins and soft cake like cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This was great I even added white chocolate chips and it added a whole new bit of fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States