Banana Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
A great recipe. The flavor is wonderful and stays moist. A must have. Great to freeze to have on hand and ready
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This bread is so delicious! As many reviewers stated, there is an issue with the cooking time, which is easily rectified. I followed the recipe exactly as stated, but after 45 minutes it was still gooey in the center. So I covered the bread with foil to prevent over browning, and continued baking for another 15 minutes. Came out perfect. It's even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This is fantastic! After reading several reviews, here are the tweaks that I made, and that I will stick with. 1/4 cup of vegetable oil instead of 1/3. Used an entire can of pumpkin, instead of 1 1/3 cup. Used 1/2 cup of brown sugar in place of honey. 1 teaspoon of Allspice instead of Pumpkin Pie Spice. 1 cup of chocolate chips in place of raisins, left out the walnuts because I didn't have any on hand, or I would have added them too. Baking time, was 80 minutes at 325 degree oven. I have now made 2 loaves, and both turned out perfectly! I love this bread! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RJHufford
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Turned out very nice! Very moist and flavorful (although I only added 1.5 teaspoons of the pumpkin pie spice, a bit more banana and less pumpkin, and a bit more than the 1/4 teaspoon salt the recipe called for). It ended up baking for about 51 minutes. The only gooey bits consisted of chunks of banana that were not smashed up enough. Will use this recipe in the future -- maybe I'll add chocolate chips next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I will admit that I took a shortcut and used 2 cups of Bisquick and 1/4 cup oil instead of the flour, baking soda, baking powder and 1/3 cup oil. I also made individual muffins so I cut back the time to 20 minutes and made 2 batches of 12 muffins. They were GREAT!!! Love this recipe and so glad to be able to use the pumpkin left over from our Thanksgiving feast. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marybcurlyq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I added 1/2 cup ground flax (in place of 1/2 cup flour) and 1/3 cup hemp protein powder and lowered the sweeteners a bit for a really healthy and yummy snack for my young kids. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
It was a very dense bread and my kids weren't into it like they are when I make the Downeast Maine recipe off this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momzilla
Home Town: Sycamore, Kansas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Agree w/ those who say double the spices. If you don't have pumpkin pie spice (I don't), mix your own with 4 parts cinnamon, one part each of ginger, allspice and ground cloves, and 1/2 part nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Delicious! I added a bit extra of the spices as suggested, used 3 bananas instead of 2, and baked for 50 minutes. It came out perfectly! Moist, chewy, and flavorful. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
If you prepare this recipe as directed it will not cook through. I doubled the cooking time to 90 min and it was finally done. It is wrong to rate this five stars and change the recipe because some folks (me) will prepare it without reading the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking_girl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States