Banana Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Delicious! After reading some reviews I split between two loaf pans. The batter was enough for one full loaf and about 3/4 of the second.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This is a very moist and delicious bread. I used fresh pumpkin with banana's, let the pumpkin drain and mixed with the rest of the ingredients. I will be making another one and bring into work..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
This recipe was o.k. I made them into muffins instead of a loaf and added chocolate chips in addition to the walnuts. They turned out very dense and weren't super moist, the chocolate chips helped, a lot. There isn't a strong pumpkin or banana flavor. If I make these again I'll try extra baking soda or maybe another egg to try and lighten it up and probably some extra pumpkin spice. Don't get me wrong, these aren't bad by any means, they just aren't great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I took the advice of gradysmom. Low and slow. I cooked it at 330 for 1/2 hour longer then called for and it came out perfect. The only change I made was brown sugar for honey because that's all I had . Very nice loaf but I found more banana flavour and no pumpkin. For that reason alone I probably won't make again. Or will make and omit banana. I was looking forward To a little more of a pumpkin loaf. Ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
With only a 1/3 c. of oil in a large loaf, this is very low fat compared to other similar breads. And its noticeable, though not necessarily unpleasant. The texture smooth and moist and he low fat content does make this a better vehicle for spreading with cream cheese than some other recipes. I doubt I will make this again. You don't really taste the banana very much, and presumably the addition of banana that causes you to use less than a full can of pumpkin. I don't like recipes that leave bits of ingredients in my fridge--particularly ones I don't normally use-- and I now have about 1/3 cup of pumpkin that I may or may not find a use for. With regard to cooking time, I had no trouble. With this and similar recipes, I bake for 40 minutes, then leave the door shut, cut off the oven and give it another 20 minutes in the still hot but cooling oven. Always works perfectly. I used frozen banana, which I did not thaw but ground up in the food processor and added last to prevent the extra moisture of thawed bananas from being a problem. That worked great. I dialed down the spice based on personal preference and added vanilla. The amount of spice does not figure into my review, but I used just half a tsp of cinnamon, half a tsp of allspice (I don't keep pumpkin pie spice), and a tsp of vanilla. I thought it gave a pleasantly fall-like but not overwhelming flavor. I might increase the cinnamon back to 1 tsp. if I made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I made it into muffins. They were very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deanna Chakarova
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This recipe turned out great. Made this recipe with gluten free flour, almond milk instead of dairy and put toffee bits on the top. Recipe made 12 nice sized muffins that are very yummy .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Chakarova

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I used maple cream instead of honey...amazingly good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
My family loved it. I added extra raisins and half of a banana. Used self rising flour and omitted the baking powder and baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
My family really loved this bread once it was finally cooked. Agree with everyone,cooking time should be 70-80min. I used fresh pumpkin and sprinkled a bit of brown sugar on top of the batter before baking. Everyone says it smells like Thankgiving in our house. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States