Banana Pudding with Meringue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Laura M.
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Helpful hint: Although it will seem like the recipe doesn't yield enough filling to coat the bananas and wafers, it's actually the perfect amount. Because the filling is warm when you pour it over the wafers/bananas and then it's further heated in the oven, if you double the filling it will be TOO MUCH hot liquid and your wafers and bananas will melt into a mush (I learned the hard way). As the recipe stands, the bananas still have some bite. Hope this helps! Thanks, Laura M.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel Hundley
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This recipe puts any using pre-packaged pudding mix to shame. One of my dinner guests described it as "beauty in her mouth." I did cut the sugar down to 3/4 c., which made it sweet but not excessively so. That is the only adjustment I made, and it was perfect. I made this in a pyrex pie dish, and it fit perfectly. The next time I make it, I am going to add one more egg white because the meringue is such a nice balance to the cookies, bananas and pudding. I am also going to use a piping bag or large ziplock to put the meringue on in little peaks instead of spreading it on in one layer, because it will look nicer when it is toasted. Your friends will love you for this one! Addendum: When I made this the second time, I cut the sugar to 2/3 and added an egg yolk since I wanted the extra white for the meringue. The result was much less sweet and a little custardy. For someone who doesn't love sugar as much as I do, this would be a great adaptation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Hundley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I made this for my North Carolina native in-laws since banana pudding is my father-in-law's all-time favorite deserts. He really dislikes instant pudding so this was the recipie I needed to try. He loved it!! It was a bit of work to make but they all said it was well worth it. I made it the night before and let it sit in the fridge over night to that the wafers would soften. I definitely recommend doubling the recipe at least since it will all disappear quickly! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
this is a good basic recipe...but....brown sugar does nothing for the pudding...granulated is best..also 3 egg whites make a much nicer meringue...add or decrease sugar to your likeing...cream of tartar should always be used in a meringue..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Being from the deep South I grew up with this recipe. My mother used to make it for church socials and family reunions. Except she used all white sugar. It is still the only way I make banana pudding. My family loves it. I also would suggest doubling the recipe as it does go really fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Laura it is so amazing how I fell across your recipe. I was calling my aunt in Louisiana to get my grandmothers old recipe for banana pudding and while she was telling me over the phone I was looking at yours. Same ingredients! We have amazing grandmothers! Nobody understands a hot banana pudding. RIP to my grandmother, but I just wanted to share that great minds think alike! Happy Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Five generations of cooks can't all be wrong. We use granulated sugar and that's the only difference made. The pudding is rich, very rich. Until it has cooled, it will be soupy but not after the wafers absorb the liquid. If it's too sweet, cut back on the sugar. Brings back a lot of memories of church picnics and Sunday desserts! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
The recipe for the pudding was aweful! I even made it twice to make sure I didn't make a mistake. It was way too sweet and had a horrible consistency. I endeed up using the best vanilla pudding recipe & it saved the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Followed recipe exactly... it didn't turn out so well. The pudding was soupy and it was sickeningly sweet. I will not make this again, it was inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This was so yummy!!!! Omg, perfect. We doubled the reciepe but forgot to double the sugar in the meringue. perfecto!!!!!!! will do again and again. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yaba
Living In: Ninety Six, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Pudding IV

See how to make a luscious and creamy no-bake dessert!

Banana Pudding

See how to make delicious no-bake banana pudding from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States