Banana Pudding with Meringue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Delicious dessert! I didn't have vanilla wafers and used graham crackers instead. Also, my daughter was helping me and told me 1 1/2 tablespoons of sugar instead of 3 1/2 for the meringue . . . it turned out just fine :-) It wasn't hard but difficult to let the kids help with the heat and eggs. It made me remember my grandmother's lemon meringue pie . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
I also grew up on this recipe, exact to every detail. It is the only way I had ever had banana pudding and was never ever to replicate it on my own. Thank goodness for this recipe! It took me back to the comforts of my childhood. My family didn't care for the meringue, but for me it was heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAKSHMI5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I made this for my North Carolina native in-laws since banana pudding is my father-in-law's all-time favorite deserts. He really dislikes instant pudding so this was the recipie I needed to try. He loved it!! It was a bit of work to make but they all said it was well worth it. I made it the night before and let it sit in the fridge over night to that the wafers would soften. I definitely recommend doubling the recipe at least since it will all disappear quickly! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Being from the deep South I grew up with this recipe. My mother used to make it for church socials and family reunions. Except she used all white sugar. It is still the only way I make banana pudding. My family loves it. I also would suggest doubling the recipe as it does go really fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
The flavor of this banana pudding recipe is almost perfect, but it's WAY too sweet. The pudding recipe also didn't yield enough pudding to totally coat all the layers of cookies and banana. Next time I make this recipe I will double the pudding recipe without increasing the sugar, because there just wasn't enough of the pudding to make the whole pan delicious and gooey! There was also much too much sugar in the meringue; 1 Tablespoon would have been plenty. If not for the excessive sweetness, this recipe would be exactly like the banana pudding my mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura M.
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Helpful hint: Although it will seem like the recipe doesn't yield enough filling to coat the bananas and wafers, it's actually the perfect amount. Because the filling is warm when you pour it over the wafers/bananas and then it's further heated in the oven, if you double the filling it will be TOO MUCH hot liquid and your wafers and bananas will melt into a mush (I learned the hard way). As the recipe stands, the bananas still have some bite. Hope this helps! Thanks, Laura M.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I loved the hint of molasses from the brown suger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScoobyToo82

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
The recipe for the pudding was aweful! I even made it twice to make sure I didn't make a mistake. It was way too sweet and had a horrible consistency. I endeed up using the best vanilla pudding recipe & it saved the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This was so yummy!!!! Omg, perfect. We doubled the reciepe but forgot to double the sugar in the meringue. perfecto!!!!!!! will do again and again. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yaba
Living In: Ninety Six, South Carolina, USA
Photo by Rachel Hundley
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This recipe puts any using pre-packaged pudding mix to shame. One of my dinner guests described it as "beauty in her mouth." I did cut the sugar down to 3/4 c., which made it sweet but not excessively so. That is the only adjustment I made, and it was perfect. I made this in a pyrex pie dish, and it fit perfectly. The next time I make it, I am going to add one more egg white because the meringue is such a nice balance to the cookies, bananas and pudding. I am also going to use a piping bag or large ziplock to put the meringue on in little peaks instead of spreading it on in one layer, because it will look nicer when it is toasted. Your friends will love you for this one! Addendum: When I made this the second time, I cut the sugar to 2/3 and added an egg yolk since I wanted the extra white for the meringue. The result was much less sweet and a little custardy. For someone who doesn't love sugar as much as I do, this would be a great adaptation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Hundley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Pudding IV

See how to make a luscious and creamy no-bake dessert!

Banana Pudding

See how to make delicious no-bake banana pudding from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States