Banana Pudding with Meringue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
this is a good basic recipe...but....brown sugar does nothing for the pudding...granulated is best..also 3 egg whites make a much nicer meringue...add or decrease sugar to your likeing...cream of tartar should always be used in a meringue..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I don't know who said this recipes was too sweet. It was perfect!!! The quick banana pudding is good if you're in a rush, but this style is my FAVE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Five generations of cooks can't all be wrong. We use granulated sugar and that's the only difference made. The pudding is rich, very rich. Until it has cooled, it will be soupy but not after the wafers absorb the liquid. If it's too sweet, cut back on the sugar. Brings back a lot of memories of church picnics and Sunday desserts! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Followed recipe exactly... it didn't turn out so well. The pudding was soupy and it was sickeningly sweet. I will not make this again, it was inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel Hundley
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This recipe puts any using pre-packaged pudding mix to shame. One of my dinner guests described it as "beauty in her mouth." I did cut the sugar down to 3/4 c., which made it sweet but not excessively so. That is the only adjustment I made, and it was perfect. I made this in a pyrex pie dish, and it fit perfectly. The next time I make it, I am going to add one more egg white because the meringue is such a nice balance to the cookies, bananas and pudding. I am also going to use a piping bag or large ziplock to put the meringue on in little peaks instead of spreading it on in one layer, because it will look nicer when it is toasted. Your friends will love you for this one! Addendum: When I made this the second time, I cut the sugar to 2/3 and added an egg yolk since I wanted the extra white for the meringue. The result was much less sweet and a little custardy. For someone who doesn't love sugar as much as I do, this would be a great adaptation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Hundley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This was so yummy!!!! Omg, perfect. We doubled the reciepe but forgot to double the sugar in the meringue. perfecto!!!!!!! will do again and again. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yaba
Living In: Ninety Six, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
The recipe for the pudding was aweful! I even made it twice to make sure I didn't make a mistake. It was way too sweet and had a horrible consistency. I endeed up using the best vanilla pudding recipe & it saved the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I loved the hint of molasses from the brown suger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScoobyToo82

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura M.
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Helpful hint: Although it will seem like the recipe doesn't yield enough filling to coat the bananas and wafers, it's actually the perfect amount. Because the filling is warm when you pour it over the wafers/bananas and then it's further heated in the oven, if you double the filling it will be TOO MUCH hot liquid and your wafers and bananas will melt into a mush (I learned the hard way). As the recipe stands, the bananas still have some bite. Hope this helps! Thanks, Laura M.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
The flavor of this banana pudding recipe is almost perfect, but it's WAY too sweet. The pudding recipe also didn't yield enough pudding to totally coat all the layers of cookies and banana. Next time I make this recipe I will double the pudding recipe without increasing the sugar, because there just wasn't enough of the pudding to make the whole pan delicious and gooey! There was also much too much sugar in the meringue; 1 Tablespoon would have been plenty. If not for the excessive sweetness, this recipe would be exactly like the banana pudding my mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Pudding IV

See how to make a luscious and creamy no-bake dessert!

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States