Banana Pudding with Meringue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I am not sure what is happening with others who have tried this saying it's not working out. I also didn't let the pudding thicken long enough, and what I thought was "coating" the spoon apparently wasn't quite enough...but it set well in the fridge, so all is good. I used the recommended amount of sugar and in no way do I think it's "too sweet". In fact it's perfect...just like any other dessert! Since I have Celiac, I used gluten free flour and used a gluten free cookie made by Schar. It's the shortbread cookies. It works and tastes good, but nothing compares to vanilla wafers! Either way, it worked out just fine. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixpackjeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
This was a hit in my home for Father's Day...after reading the previous reviews I decided to just do 1/2 cup brown sugar & 1/2 cup of white sugar..I also used 3 egg whites...it turned out GREAT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
I did the meringue exactly like the recipe calls for but as soon as i added the sugar it just turned to foamy soup. Researched Allrecipes for how to make a meringue and found a couple tips i will try next time-do not use a plastic bowl, room temp egg whites, add sugar from the beginning-pudding was delicious tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Really liked it, i just removed de waffers and added cinnamon in the puddin .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Laura it is so amazing how I fell across your recipe. I was calling my aunt in Louisiana to get my grandmothers old recipe for banana pudding and while she was telling me over the phone I was looking at yours. Same ingredients! We have amazing grandmothers! Nobody understands a hot banana pudding. RIP to my grandmother, but I just wanted to share that great minds think alike! Happy Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
MMMMM! Made this as a dessert for Easter dinner. Runny, but that was my fault. I didn't have the patience (or the time, actually) to cook the pudding until it thickened enough, but it was STILL delicious! My family ate it up! I was almost embarrassed for them to see it because it was so soupy, but after one teensy bite, I changed my mind & am glad I did. I live in the deep south & my southern family all agreed that it had that "home-made" banana pudding taste that we grew up with as kids. I doubled the recipe per some suggestions, but if you are only making a 9x13 dish...DON'T double it! I ended up with too much pudding & I think that's why it was taking so long to thicken. But DO double the meringue. Banana pudding without meringue shouldn't even be called banana pudding! :) I will definitely keep this recipe in the mix for family gatherings! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Well this was a hit!! this is my southern boyfriends favorite dessert, it was my first time making . He kept saying how it was better than his grandmas!!! thank u so much, he was pleased and so was I . I did use white sugar instead of brown
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Spencer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
this recipe was very easy and great...i did a little tweaking of course to make it my own but great if you need a starting place and never made it homemade before...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsBattle2011

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This dessert was okay. Definitely not one of my favorites. It was alittle too sweet. It took about 30 minutes to get the pudding mixture to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Easy to make but a word of advice- definitely serve warm. I made this ahead of time thinking it would save me some trouble and so I wouldn't have to neglect my dinner guests, but putting it in the fridge made the wafers hard as rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Pudding IV

See how to make a luscious and creamy no-bake dessert!

Banana Pudding

See how to make delicious no-bake banana pudding from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States