Banana Pudding II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I've made this lots of times and love it for old fashioned way of making pudding without using the box of gelatin pudding from the store. Tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
This pudding turned out really good. The recipe was easy to follow and and quick. It may have been smoother if I had used just egg yolks but I went ahead and used whole eggs. I added double the vanilla as I like a good vanilla favor. Also, turned out the box of vanilla wafers I evidently had for far too long, was rancid. Ugh. So, I used ginger snaps instead which added a nice flavor. Think it would help to know that this pudding fits nicely into a 1.5 quart bowl and it really makes more like 6-8 generous servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I just made this recipe - I did not use a double boiler I used a no stick pot, I tried to get the pudding to ribbon, but it just wouldn't do it for me. No problem. After I added the butter and vanilla I also stired in 1 cup of milk chocolate chips. It is in the fridge cooling off. But it tastes great hot. Next time I will try adding 2 mashed banana's instead of chocolate chips. (the experiments just never stop with me)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I haven't made this recipe yet but it looks like what I was looking for. I have one question. Any time I have made pudding before, I always separate the eggs and use the yolks only. I am hesitant to include the whites to the pudding, thinking it will not be as smooth. Any comments will be appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
The taste was great, but the consistency wasn't right (mealy or almost curddled). The reviews were either 4* or 1*, so I figured that It was me! I pulled out my trusty Joy of cooking and studied up on cornstarch. For those of us that had issues, the pudding was either overcooked or cooked at too high of a temperature. Hope this is helpful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
We've made this recipe about 7 times in all now and it is just like my husband remembers making with his mother. Hubby is diabetic now and sugar-free vanilla wafers and sugar substitute taste no different. We don't use a double boiler either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Tried four times to make this and it well not thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I love this recipe. I only like original homemade banana pudding. That instant stuff will never do. The smell of this simmering over the stove was wonderful. I didn't have a double boiler so a regular sauce pan works fine. I agree with another review and I mixed my eggs, sugar, cornstarch and milk before placing it over heat. Add wafers and bananas to taste. I like more wafers and less bananas. I took this to work and they LOVED IT. The absolutely cleaned the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I tried to get this pudding set up without luck. Substituted the vanilla extract with banana flavored extract for better flavor. On the plus side, I like that this makes smaller servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
The pudding was a little bland, but I did like that it was made from scratch. Easy to make and good comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Pudding IV

See how to make a luscious and creamy no-bake dessert!

Banana Pudding

See how to make delicious no-bake banana pudding from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States