Banana Pudding II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I just made this recipe - I did not use a double boiler I used a no stick pot, I tried to get the pudding to ribbon, but it just wouldn't do it for me. No problem. After I added the butter and vanilla I also stired in 1 cup of milk chocolate chips. It is in the fridge cooling off. But it tastes great hot. Next time I will try adding 2 mashed banana's instead of chocolate chips. (the experiments just never stop with me)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I haven't made this recipe yet but it looks like what I was looking for. I have one question. Any time I have made pudding before, I always separate the eggs and use the yolks only. I am hesitant to include the whites to the pudding, thinking it will not be as smooth. Any comments will be appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
The taste was great, but the consistency wasn't right (mealy or almost curddled). The reviews were either 4* or 1*, so I figured that It was me! I pulled out my trusty Joy of cooking and studied up on cornstarch. For those of us that had issues, the pudding was either overcooked or cooked at too high of a temperature. Hope this is helpful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
We've made this recipe about 7 times in all now and it is just like my husband remembers making with his mother. Hubby is diabetic now and sugar-free vanilla wafers and sugar substitute taste no different. We don't use a double boiler either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Tried four times to make this and it well not thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I love this recipe. I only like original homemade banana pudding. That instant stuff will never do. The smell of this simmering over the stove was wonderful. I didn't have a double boiler so a regular sauce pan works fine. I agree with another review and I mixed my eggs, sugar, cornstarch and milk before placing it over heat. Add wafers and bananas to taste. I like more wafers and less bananas. I took this to work and they LOVED IT. The absolutely cleaned the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I tried to get this pudding set up without luck. Substituted the vanilla extract with banana flavored extract for better flavor. On the plus side, I like that this makes smaller servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
The pudding was a little bland, but I did like that it was made from scratch. Easy to make and good comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
A good base recipe; you can customize as needed. I didn't find it necessary to use a double boiler for the custard - just do it in a saucepan on low heat whisking constantly until it thickens (and registers to 170 on a thermometer).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Great pudding recipe! I make it for 6 serving, put first 6 ingredients in 8 cup Pyrex, mocrowave 3 minutes on high then put in saucepan and over simmering water. Cooks much faster with no lumps. Use it for banana pudding, fruit trifles and plain
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Pudding IV

See how to make a luscious and creamy no-bake dessert!

Banana Pudding

See how to make delicious no-bake banana pudding from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States