Banana Pudding II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
This pudding turned out really good. The recipe was easy to follow and and quick. It may have been smoother if I had used just egg yolks but I went ahead and used whole eggs. I added double the vanilla as I like a good vanilla favor. Also, turned out the box of vanilla wafers I evidently had for far too long, was rancid. Ugh. So, I used ginger snaps instead which added a nice flavor. Think it would help to know that this pudding fits nicely into a 1.5 quart bowl and it really makes more like 6-8 generous servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I just made this recipe - I did not use a double boiler I used a no stick pot, I tried to get the pudding to ribbon, but it just wouldn't do it for me. No problem. After I added the butter and vanilla I also stired in 1 cup of milk chocolate chips. It is in the fridge cooling off. But it tastes great hot. Next time I will try adding 2 mashed banana's instead of chocolate chips. (the experiments just never stop with me)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I haven't made this recipe yet but it looks like what I was looking for. I have one question. Any time I have made pudding before, I always separate the eggs and use the yolks only. I am hesitant to include the whites to the pudding, thinking it will not be as smooth. Any comments will be appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
The taste was great, but the consistency wasn't right (mealy or almost curddled). The reviews were either 4* or 1*, so I figured that It was me! I pulled out my trusty Joy of cooking and studied up on cornstarch. For those of us that had issues, the pudding was either overcooked or cooked at too high of a temperature. Hope this is helpful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
We've made this recipe about 7 times in all now and it is just like my husband remembers making with his mother. Hubby is diabetic now and sugar-free vanilla wafers and sugar substitute taste no different. We don't use a double boiler either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Tried four times to make this and it well not thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I love this recipe. I only like original homemade banana pudding. That instant stuff will never do. The smell of this simmering over the stove was wonderful. I didn't have a double boiler so a regular sauce pan works fine. I agree with another review and I mixed my eggs, sugar, cornstarch and milk before placing it over heat. Add wafers and bananas to taste. I like more wafers and less bananas. I took this to work and they LOVED IT. The absolutely cleaned the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I tried to get this pudding set up without luck. Substituted the vanilla extract with banana flavored extract for better flavor. On the plus side, I like that this makes smaller servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
The pudding was a little bland, but I did like that it was made from scratch. Easy to make and good comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
A good base recipe; you can customize as needed. I didn't find it necessary to use a double boiler for the custard - just do it in a saucepan on low heat whisking constantly until it thickens (and registers to 170 on a thermometer).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Pudding IV

See how to make a luscious and creamy no-bake dessert!

Banana Pudding

See how to make delicious no-bake banana pudding from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States