Banana Pudding II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
The ingredients are just right. For inexperienced cooks, a few suggestions: while the water in the double boiler is heating, don't place the top pan over the water yet. Mix the sugar, salt and cornstarch together in a bowl, add milk and eggs. Beat all together, pour into the room-temperature top part of double boiler. When water is boiling, lower to a simmer, and place top pan over water. This method prevents lumps, and keeps pudding from sticking to pan. We also like to top the pudding with a bit of whipped cream. Thanks for a great recipe, Sue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
This is the recipe I've been looking for! It's just like my Grandma used to make. Taking the advice of another reviewer, I mixed everything together in the top of the double boiler and then put it over the simmering water. To make it prettier, I topped it with crushed vanilla wafers. This was perfect! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2001
I LOVE THIS RECIPE; IS EASY AND GREAT TO EAT. I PREFERED WARM AS WELL. I USED TO EAT IT WHEN I LIVED IN ARKANSAS, USA. THANK YOU FOR MAKE ME REMEMBER IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2002
TERRIFIC!! I wanted a recipe that had that old fashioned, made-from-scratch taste - THIS IS IT!! My family loves it!! I also added meringue and baked until it was a light brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sara Washington
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
This recipe is great! My husband and I love it, and it is very easy to make. I add some whip topping on top when I serve it and it kind of tastes like banana cream pie. Absolutely delicious and better than any boxed pudding!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Washington

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
OHHH BOYYY!!! I grew up in the coal camps of SW Virginia and Mom use to make this on rare special occasions. I haven't had banana pudding in far to many years... This brought back memories of childhood. Thank you Sue for a very special treat.. It tasted sooooo good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
I am a true Southerner & this recipe will beat some of the recipes handed down for years. Its easy to make & tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
I have now made this recipe around 10 times and have found this is the closest to "what grandma used to make". I have found that this recipe can be doubled for taking to a dinner party. Also everyone who has tried it raves about how good it is and how it is the best tasting 'nana puddin' they have had in a while. One thing that I have found improves the flavor greatly is to use more vanilla and also to use butter instead of margarine. Thanks again for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sniper69

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
Wonderful!!! The perfect recipe I was looking for. Just perfect. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hazel Crest, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
it was really delicious.i didnt use wafers for the recipe,i just made pudding and instead of fresh bananas,i added 2 teaspoons banana extract,and also doubled the recipeb so i got 10 cups pudding..it was yummy a lot even when its cooled.my parents liked it.i will always use this one from now on.thx a lot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asli   Ocak

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Izmir, Izmir, Turkey

Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Pudding IV

See how to make a luscious and creamy no-bake dessert!

Banana Pudding

See how to make delicious no-bake banana pudding from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States