Banana Pudding II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
The ingredients are just right. For inexperienced cooks, a few suggestions: while the water in the double boiler is heating, don't place the top pan over the water yet. Mix the sugar, salt and cornstarch together in a bowl, add milk and eggs. Beat all together, pour into the room-temperature top part of double boiler. When water is boiling, lower to a simmer, and place top pan over water. This method prevents lumps, and keeps pudding from sticking to pan. We also like to top the pudding with a bit of whipped cream. Thanks for a great recipe, Sue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
241 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
I have now made this recipe around 10 times and have found this is the closest to "what grandma used to make". I have found that this recipe can be doubled for taking to a dinner party. Also everyone who has tried it raves about how good it is and how it is the best tasting 'nana puddin' they have had in a while. One thing that I have found improves the flavor greatly is to use more vanilla and also to use butter instead of margarine. Thanks again for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sniper69

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2002
TERRIFIC!! I wanted a recipe that had that old fashioned, made-from-scratch taste - THIS IS IT!! My family loves it!! I also added meringue and baked until it was a light brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2001
Delicious, but a little too sweet. Next time I'll use slightly less sugar and slightly less vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Really yummy!! I've made this one twice, but in the microwave instead of double boiler. Super Simple and tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
it was really delicious.i didnt use wafers for the recipe,i just made pudding and instead of fresh bananas,i added 2 teaspoons banana extract,and also doubled the recipeb so i got 10 cups pudding..it was yummy a lot even when its cooled.my parents liked it.i will always use this one from now on.thx a lot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asli   Ocak

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Izmir, Izmir, Turkey
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
OHHH BOYYY!!! I grew up in the coal camps of SW Virginia and Mom use to make this on rare special occasions. I haven't had banana pudding in far to many years... This brought back memories of childhood. Thank you Sue for a very special treat.. It tasted sooooo good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
I am a true Southerner & this recipe will beat some of the recipes handed down for years. Its easy to make & tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2001
I LOVE THIS RECIPE; IS EASY AND GREAT TO EAT. I PREFERED WARM AS WELL. I USED TO EAT IT WHEN I LIVED IN ARKANSAS, USA. THANK YOU FOR MAKE ME REMEMBER IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2000
Just like the one my Mom used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Pudding IV

See how to make a luscious and creamy no-bake dessert!

Banana Pudding

See how to make delicious no-bake banana pudding from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States