Banana Pudding I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
I make this pudding to see if the texture was grainy and it was as I expected. Cooking egg whites in a sauce or pudding is a culinary no-no. The flavor was good but that texture.....I would suggest 6 egg yolk and NO white. The texture will be velvet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
I really liked this easy recipe, all the ingredients on hand. The only thing I was disappointed about was the size of the dish I made it in. Be sure to use only an 8x8 or a 8x10 dish. I used a 9x13 dish and the pudding was only about 1/2 inch deep. I was so disappointed. Next time I will just double the recipe for a 9x13. Otherwise, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
This Recipe is acceptional, but the milk ingredient in it should be partially replace with heavy cream or half-n-half. I stirred the milk to be thicken for almost 10 minutes, and it lacked the fat within to thicken. If the creator made a note about using part heavy cream, then my banana pudding would come out looking 5 times thicker and it would not take 3 hours to just be less thin. Next time, I will (and to everyone else), use at least 1/4 of the requested milk indgredient amount(ex: reciepe ask for 1 cup of milk, instead...use 3/4 of milk and 1/4 of heavy cream).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doctor of Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jamaica, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RachelLPN
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
I love LOVE this recipe. Its delicious. The only thing I do different is use just the egg yolks and I cook on medium heat until pudding thickens. I've made this for cook outs and its always a hit! I took the picture of this recipe too. Sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
This is just like what my mom made many years ago. I followed the recipe and it turned out great. It thickened just like it is supposed to. Stirred in the bananas and then placed nilla wafers on top. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
Delicious!! Just like my Grandmother's! I use the ingredients exactly as stated. If your pudding is runny, you need to cook it longer. If your pudding is really runny when you remove it from the pan, it will also be runny when you serve it. You will know when you see the change in constitency of your pudding that it's ready to take off the heat. Enjoy, this is a GREAT recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
I am a BIG banana-pudding lover, and I really enjoyed this receipe. This receipe was so much easier than those double-boiler receipes. My recommedations: (1) use an 8x8 dish (unless you double it to ingredients), and (2) turn up the heat a little to thicken up the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Made this for a friend's birthday as it is her favorite dessert. Turned out great! I upped the vanilla, used three bananas, only egg whites, and almost a whole box of vanilla wafers, but I followed everything else as written. Had no problems with runniness, stickiness, etc. I think the trick may be to stir (constantly) with a whisk so that air gets in to the pudding, preventing lumps and allowing it to cool more evenly. I would agree that if you plan to get 18 servings out of this, they will be tiny. I really couldn't see any more than 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ceewee1024

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
My first attempt at homemade pudding..it is WONDERFUL! And easy to boot! I used a double boiler and whisked the mixture constantly until thickened. I crushed nilla wafers and sprinkled on top to keep from getting a "film" and it also made a really pretty presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delmar, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fruitland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I made this last Sunday. I added more bananas and wafers to taste. Taste almost like my Granny’s, the culinary artist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Pudding IV

See how to make a luscious and creamy no-bake dessert!

Banana Pudding

See how to make delicious no-bake banana pudding from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States