Banana Pudding I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Never made banana pudding before, turned out great (the 2nd time around). Follow directions to the T, and it is very good. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I'm giving this recipe 2 stars not for the taste, but for the vague directions. I "know" how to make pudding it is basic. I "know" that you should get the pudding thick enough to coat the back of a spoon and when you run your finger down it you can tell it has thickened up. What tripped me up in this recipe is the statement "when mixture begins to thicken" indicating at the beginning of the thickening process you take the pudding off the burner. If you follow the directions and do that you will have runny pudding like so many folks with this recipe including myself had. I thought it might thicken up when I refrigerated it, but that is not the case. Cook this pudding until it is thickened than take it off the burner and you should be ok. The flavor was lovely and I think I would make it again, but next time using my skills and knowledge as a cook and not depending on a recipe that has a slight flaw that will produce a desert that isn't "right"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This is a good recipe for a homemade banana pudding. I did what others suggested and cooked the mix over med-low heat to make it thicken up quicker. It still took a little longer than I had expected, but nothing too bad. about 20-30 minutes. I also used just egg yolks like others suggested and it came out really creamy, just the way I like it! I also doubled the recipe to fit in a 9x13 inch glass pan, because let's face it, anhything smaller just isn't enough! =) It was a little sweet for my liking, but my husband loved it, and he's just about the world's biggest banana pudding Lover. We'll definately be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chinah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I had to make this pudding twice..the first time i made it never thickened..so i tryed it a second time after reading some reviews..I used medium heat instead of low and used 4 egg yolks instead of the 3 eggs beaten..it was great! the second time.I gave it a three because the recipe needs some work overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Wow! Really good homemade banana pudding! I picked this recipe because it was very close to my french pastry cream recipe, which is out of this world, and it tasted very similar except not as thick. Only change I did was to double the recipe so i would have a deep 9x13" dish and good thing I did. I probably added 1 1/2 to 2 teaspoons vanilla. I added until it was to my liking and after doubling everything else, I left the butter at 2 tablespoons (only to save on fat a little). Also, the author didn't mention if you bring it to the boil, but I figured since it's eggs, you have to. And that was when it got really thick anyway. I was a bit hesitant to put hot filling over the bananas, I thought they might turn black. So I whisked in 2 ice cubes to cool it a little more and poured it over the bananas and cookies very warm, not hot. But to my relief, the bananas did not turn one bit brown. I topped my dish with whipped cream. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sharjah, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Not sure why some of the other reviewers had trouble with this recipe. Just cook slow over medium heat and it will thicken. This is the good old fashioned way to make banana pudding - much better than the instant pudding recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Great results! Here's what I did: 4 egg yolks. Medium heat. Only took about 12 minutes to thicken. Smooth and creamy and delicious. I also added a smashed banana to the pudding in the end in addition to the sliced banana in the bottom of the pan. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pastormaya
Living In: Kenai, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Easy to make. Great sunday after dinner treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RachelLPN
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
I love LOVE this recipe. Its delicious. The only thing I do different is use just the egg yolks and I cook on medium heat until pudding thickens. I've made this for cook outs and its always a hit! I took the picture of this recipe too. Sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
Scrumptious. I only wish the cooking time had been specified; after 1 hour on low/medium heat I was just about to call it quits, but turned up the heat to high and within 5 minutes, the pudding had set. Not being an expert cook, I don't know if 60 minutes is typical for pudding, but I'd be tempted to put the heat a little higher next time. (I see other reviewers say low heat is key. Maybe I stirred too constantly to let it heat up??) It sure tasted great and I'd definitely double it if serving more than 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Pudding IV

See how to make a luscious and creamy no-bake dessert!

Banana Pudding

See how to make delicious no-bake banana pudding from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States