Banana Pudding I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
-1 star because I wouldn't advise putting in egg whites. I used 4 egg yolks and followed the rest of the recipe. Absolutely delicious with home made whip cream!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I usually try a recipe for the first time without changing anything. I did the same for this one and was extremely pleased! I have my own recipe for banana pudding which is in my head that my daughter says is the best ever. Although the taste is the sameI do believe the pudding in this one is creamier so will use this one from now on. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly as written and it was delicious. I had no problems with texture as did some other reviewers. It was very smooth and creamy. I did not use egg whites only or use part cream as did other reviewers. The only thing I would do differently would be to double the pudding part of the recipe. There is not enough pudding for a 9X13 pan. The original recipe states that it will serve 18. We used the whole thing for four adults and three children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I was skeptical at first about a pudding that didn"t get cooked. I grew up with an old fashioned mother who made "the"worlds best Banana pudding. So I changed it a little to suit my liking.And I think if you try the changes you will agree it's better. I dont like egg whites in any_ thing culinarly sweet.So I substituted 6 egg yolks for the 3 whole egg's, and instead of 2 cups of whole milk I used 1& 1/2 cups of milk and 1/2 cup of heavy whipping cream. Outside of the changes I made this is an "exceptional" recipie. It' also great with cool whip topped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Good recipe but I substituted splenda for sugar plus used 1/3 cup flour + 2 tblsp, and only 2 egg yolks beaten,and 1 tblsp butter..the rest the same. It takes about 15 min to thicken..using just yolks instead of a whole egg makes it come out really smooth..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maidenbftm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleburne, Texas, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
this was alright it tasted more like a custard than a pudding the kids enjoyed it. they knew something was different. i told them that it was homemade and not the box one. i had a few problems with the cornstarch. it thickened well but after i refrigerated it for a while it thinned out a bit. probably because of my cornstarch issues. i'll probably search for a recipe that uses flour instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I started making from scratch banana pudding many years ago for my restaurant and this has been a faithful base recipe for me. I only add egg yolks as I use the whites for my chicken dip. I also add some cornstarch. The butter REALLY makes the difference. I didn't give it 5 stars only because of the changes I made in the recipe. You really have to just stand and stir it the whole time it's cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUVCOOKINTN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Savannah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Wonderful and super easy! I was just looking for a basic vanilla pudding recipe and this will be the one I go to. I used 2% milk and the pudding turned out nice and thick. Great texture, even with the egg whites included. I made it a 2nd time last night and melted in 6 oz of semi sweet chocolate with the butter and vanilla - wonderful! The only reason I'm not giving the recipe 5 stars is because it does make a rather small batch. I doubled the recipe to feed 9 people. There was about 3 servings left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARRYANDKAREN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I was looking for a recipe that didn't call for instant pudding, and this is a good one. Not quite sure why a 9x13 dish was called for...I was able to fit it quite nicely into a refrigerator dish with room to spare. Also, it's much better if allowed to sit in the refrigerator over night. Will definitely make again, but will reduce the number of cookies, and increase the number of bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Cut this down to "6" servings, but still used 2 yolks instead of one egg. Used crushed animal crackers and layered with 2 bananas before pouring on the custard. After cooling, topped it off with fresh whipped cream. Yummmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Pudding IV

See how to make a luscious and creamy no-bake dessert!

Banana Pudding

See how to make delicious no-bake banana pudding from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States