Banana Pudding I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I had a whole bunch of bananas and a box of boring wheat cookies that no one wanted to eat in the cupboard. I stumbled upon this recipe in my search to use up both ingredients. And I was pleasantly surprised! I made a few small changes as suggested by other users. I doubled the recipe and only used the egg yolks. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly for the pudding part. My pudding thickened beautifully and without any problems. I think it is possible that the users who couldn't get the pudding to thicken may have had the heat set too low. Everyone's oven heats differently, so you have to take that into account. You want the pudding hot enough, but NOT boiling. Mine took about 10-15 minutes to thicken. After I removed it from the heat and let it cool down a little, I added 2 finely chopped bananas to the pudding itself. I crushed up the wheat cookies I had on hand into crumbs and made a sort of graham cracker type crust at the bottom of my glass dish. I added some melted butter, cinnamon, and nutmeg to the crumbs and let the crust toast in the oven for 5 minutes. I let that cool down and then I put the pudding on top. I sliced 2 more bananas for decoration and I also added some more cookie crumbs on top. I let it chill for a few hours before dessert time. My husband couldn't believe that I made this myself, that is how good it was! We ate the whole bowl. When I asked if I should make it again, everyone in the family said YES! So, thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
It is a great recipe, but the portions sure seem small to me. I made the recipe for 12 and it only fills a 1 quart bowl about 2/3 full. So, just make the full amount and you'll have plenty...it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Really great flavor! After reading other reviews, I doubled the recipe, and it was perfect in my 9x12 baking pan. Also used egg yolks in place of whole eggs. I'll make it again very soon, but I'm going to find someone else to stir the custard as it heats! My arm got tired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Double the recipe for a 13 x 9 pan. You will want this recipe doubled. I made my version with only egg yolks and it was fantastic. This dessert will go fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Falke

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Leander, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
-1 star because I wouldn't advise putting in egg whites. I used 4 egg yolks and followed the rest of the recipe. Absolutely delicious with home made whip cream!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I usually try a recipe for the first time without changing anything. I did the same for this one and was extremely pleased! I have my own recipe for banana pudding which is in my head that my daughter says is the best ever. Although the taste is the sameI do believe the pudding in this one is creamier so will use this one from now on. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly as written and it was delicious. I had no problems with texture as did some other reviewers. It was very smooth and creamy. I did not use egg whites only or use part cream as did other reviewers. The only thing I would do differently would be to double the pudding part of the recipe. There is not enough pudding for a 9X13 pan. The original recipe states that it will serve 18. We used the whole thing for four adults and three children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I was skeptical at first about a pudding that didn"t get cooked. I grew up with an old fashioned mother who made "the"worlds best Banana pudding. So I changed it a little to suit my liking.And I think if you try the changes you will agree it's better. I dont like egg whites in any_ thing culinarly sweet.So I substituted 6 egg yolks for the 3 whole egg's, and instead of 2 cups of whole milk I used 1& 1/2 cups of milk and 1/2 cup of heavy whipping cream. Outside of the changes I made this is an "exceptional" recipie. It' also great with cool whip topped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Good recipe but I substituted splenda for sugar plus used 1/3 cup flour + 2 tblsp, and only 2 egg yolks beaten,and 1 tblsp butter..the rest the same. It takes about 15 min to thicken..using just yolks instead of a whole egg makes it come out really smooth..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maidenbftm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleburne, Texas, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
this was alright it tasted more like a custard than a pudding the kids enjoyed it. they knew something was different. i told them that it was homemade and not the box one. i had a few problems with the cornstarch. it thickened well but after i refrigerated it for a while it thinned out a bit. probably because of my cornstarch issues. i'll probably search for a recipe that uses flour instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Pudding IV

See how to make a luscious and creamy no-bake dessert!

Banana Pudding

See how to make delicious no-bake banana pudding from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States