Banana Pudding I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Easy and lovely! I made this right up, doubling the recipie for our larger family. It is not grainy, I just followed the recipie and it worked out fine. Homemade pudding puts the flavor of the boxed pudding mixes to shame, and is not that much more difficult to prepare. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This is a very easy pudding recipe. I love how versatile it is, don't like bananas? Make it a vanilla pudding! The only thing is the written recipe may be difficult for new pudding cooks, i.e. how to add ingredients and when to stop cooking is vague.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peace Frog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I made this for my dad's bday cause irt is his favorite. me and my mom dont' really care for it, but we both had to have second's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I made this recipe for the first time for Christmas. My husband raved about it and has asked for it many times since. I did change to a smaller version and used 2 bananas so when I make the original version I will increase the amount of bananas since my family likes a lot of bananas. Yum Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I get rave reviews and an empty dish! Sometimes I substitute 1/2 c. of cream for 1/2 c. of milk and it's decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This is the first time I have ever made Banana Pudding and I am THRILLED that I chose to use this recipe. I read through all the comments first, and opted to use only egg yolks instead whole eggs (as per several suggestions), and I opted to turn the heat up a little more while constantly stirring to ensure there was no lumping. The pudding was excellent when I first served it a few hours after making it, but I was unprepared for how AWESOME it was the next day!! I could not believe that I had made something so delicious the first time! This is perfect on its own without the wafers and to use as a banana cream filling. THANK YOU for sharing this recipe; it was a huge success for me! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I took the suggestion of another reviewer and used 6 egg yolks instead of 3 whole eggs. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This was fantastic! I was looking for a banana pudding for Thanksgiving that tasted like Mom's. I doubled the recipe, as suggested by other reviewers. I still used an 8 x 8 pan and added two more bananas. Everyone love it! I will definately make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvnMitch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rison, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Never set up. Very disappointing and expensive since it had to be tossed. I read one of the other negative reviews and that reviewer mentioned something that may have been the problem. The directions say that when the pudding 'begins' to thicken, take it off the heat. Maybe it should have cooked longer. No matter, I won't risk the time and expense again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I had a whole bunch of bananas and a box of boring wheat cookies that no one wanted to eat in the cupboard. I stumbled upon this recipe in my search to use up both ingredients. And I was pleasantly surprised! I made a few small changes as suggested by other users. I doubled the recipe and only used the egg yolks. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly for the pudding part. My pudding thickened beautifully and without any problems. I think it is possible that the users who couldn't get the pudding to thicken may have had the heat set too low. Everyone's oven heats differently, so you have to take that into account. You want the pudding hot enough, but NOT boiling. Mine took about 10-15 minutes to thicken. After I removed it from the heat and let it cool down a little, I added 2 finely chopped bananas to the pudding itself. I crushed up the wheat cookies I had on hand into crumbs and made a sort of graham cracker type crust at the bottom of my glass dish. I added some melted butter, cinnamon, and nutmeg to the crumbs and let the crust toast in the oven for 5 minutes. I let that cool down and then I put the pudding on top. I sliced 2 more bananas for decoration and I also added some more cookie crumbs on top. I let it chill for a few hours before dessert time. My husband couldn't believe that I made this myself, that is how good it was! We ate the whole bowl. When I asked if I should make it again, everyone in the family said YES! So, thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Pudding IV

See how to make a luscious and creamy no-bake dessert!

Banana Pudding

See how to make delicious no-bake banana pudding from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States