Banana Pudding I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Contrary to some reviews, my pudding came out silky smooth, stir and stir and stir some more, be patient. Use the best ingredients, why skimp when your making it from scratch. I used unsalted butter and Madagascar Vanilla and it was perfect! Cooled it and I did use one shortcut because I forgot heavy whipping cream for whip cream, we used cool whip. Another thing if you want a custard like pudding which is different in taste and texture omit the egg whites and use egg yokes and cook this over a double broiler. But was a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Haddock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
My first attempt at making a banana pudding turned out fantastic! I read the comments others had posted and used some of them. I used 7 egg yolks in the pudding instead of 3 whole eggs. I stored the egg whites to make meringue later after the pudding had cooled. I also used 5 small bananas and a square dish, about 8X8 which was perfect. I cut back on milk by a 1/4 cup. I didn't think the pudding would ever get ready but when it did, I knew it was ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
The flavor is wonderful, but it has been in the refrigerator for 2 hours and still has not set up. Right now it's like a thin banana milkshake. Very disappointed. We were all looking forward to having the pudding tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
The pudding was good. The texture was smooth. Be sure to keep stirring until thick. You will need to double the recipe to fit a 9 x 13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I basically followed your recipe (with wonderfully tasty results) but I just put the yolks in, instead of the whole egg. I remembered a recipe my mom had and she only put the yolks in. I was disappointed at the amount it made. Must be small servings...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Perfect!! Didn't have to change a thing and the family and guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I did everything as directed and the pudding did not thicken up until I added corn starch. So I am not sure if an ingredient was missed in error or if I possibly did do something wrong I was not aware of. The idea was good but did not execute as I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Very good recipe. My mom makes hers this way too. I did seperate and only used the egg yolks though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
i went exactly by the recipe = awesome; exactly how my nana makes it! to serve 12 i usually make double the batch and top it off with homemade whipcream. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monicajoy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Wonderful recipe. I was looking for a recipe like my mom-in-law makes. This certainly did not disappoint! I used 2C milk just like the recipe calls for but did use egg yolks instead of entire egg. Will definitely make this again. It was the hit of the Easter dessert table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Pudding IV

See how to make a luscious and creamy no-bake dessert!

Banana Pudding

See how to make delicious no-bake banana pudding from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States