Banana Pudding I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I took the advice of some of the other posters. I swapped out 1/2 of the milk for heavy cream, and replaced the 3 whole eggs with 6 egg yolks. The pudding was awesome. At first I had a hard time getting it to thicken, but when I raised the temperature slightly (from 3 to 4 on my electric cooktop) it thickened nicely. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
My husband is the banana pudding lover, and it wasn't sweet enough for him, and I didn't like the color of the pudding after it set. It just didn't have "the umph" that he was expecting. followed recipe right to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I was looking for a banana pudding recipe made from scratch and I came across this one. I read some of the reviews ahead of time and saw quite a few people had problems with it being too runny. I made sure that I stirred it constantly while it was cooking on the until it was very thick before I removed it from the heat. I crushed the vanilla wafers and layered some on the bottom of the dish followed by a layer of sliced bananas. I sprinkled the top with more crushed vanilla wafers. I ended up using four bananas instead of two. It came out fantastic. My son said it was the best banana pudding he had ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
This was a excellent recipe. Instead of using the store bought vanilla wafers, i used this recipe and made my own. http://allrecipes.com/recipe/vanilla-wafer-cookies-that-are-better-than-storebought/detail.aspx It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plum Grove, Texas, USA
Living In: Diboll, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This was exactly the recipe I was looking for.....an old fashioned banana pudding from my childhood. This made a very large banana pudding after I put it together with 3 medium bananas and two layers of vanilla wafers. I mixed the dry ingredients in a microwave-safe mixing bowl, then I whisked the eggs and 2 cups of milk (skim -- all I had on hand) and vanilla. I poured the well whisked egg-milk mixture through a sieve into the dry mixture to filter any little particles that might lump. Once I had whisked the entire pudding until well mixed, I placed it in the microwave oven and cooked on high for 2 minutes. Took it out and whisked well, then put it back for 2 more minutes. I whisked it well again, and because it was thickening, I microwaved 1 minute at a time, whisking well after each minute until it reached the desired consistency. I layered the bottom of the serving bowl with vanilla wafters, spread a thin layer of pudding, then cut 3 bananas over the layer of pudding. I covered the bananas with the remainder of the pudding and then covered the top with vanilla wafers. I used HOMEMADE vanilla wafers from a little local bakery near us...Slatonbakery.com. Delicious and so easy! (Warning: The pudding will thicken around the edges first, but if you whisk well each time, it will be smooth and will not have lumps.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Really good and couldn't be easier to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Great .,, but the recipes for the meringue would have been nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I use 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla and add 2-3 bananas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Ladera Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I made this last night and followed the recipe except I replaced 1/4 cup of the milk with heavy cream and I also cooked it a good bit longer than when it first starts to thicken. I think you have to use your own judgement on that, but I would cook it until it's as thick as you want it to be when completed. I don't know if it needed the heavy cream to thicken up, I just added it because I like the richness it adds. It was super creamy and so much better than store bought puddings. This recipe is making it into my recipe box with only the slightest of adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheree

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Super delicious! Reminds me of my childhood. My sister and brother-in-law loved it as well, so I am doubling the recipe tomorrow and taking them half. Thanks so much for this fantastic pudding recipe! :) YUMMY! Oh, and by the way, it is MUCH better the second and third day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Pudding IV

See how to make a luscious and creamy no-bake dessert!

Banana Pudding

See how to make delicious no-bake banana pudding from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States