Banana Pudding I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Loved it was not any harder to make than the packaged ones. Next time I will only add half the sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I always separate egg yolks from whites. Use yolks in pudding and whites for meringue topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dinner Date

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This recipe I'd very close to the one my family has used for years! I would only change from 3 eggs to 3 egg yolks (save the white for a whipped topping.) and use condensed sweet milk with the whole milk to make it creamy. Otherwise this is a great recipe. I always have to double or triple it for family get togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Oh, yeah! Prefect for my hankering! I also decided to add my own twist and used ginger snaps instead! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This is my first time making pudding from scratch. I absolutely could not think of eating pudding out of a box so I tried this recipe for my banana pudding. WOW!!! I read most of the reviews and made the following changes: 1. I doubled the recipe 2. I only had 9 eggs so I used 8 yolks and one whole egg 3. In place of the 4 cups of milk I used 3 cups of whole milk and 1 cup of half and half 4. Instead of 1 1/3 cups of sugar, I only used one cup and it was plenty sweet 5. I doubled the vanilla to 2 teaspoons 6. I stirred the pudding for 12 minutes and it thickened beautifully then I strained it and cooled it so that I could put the banana pudding layers together That's it -- this is now my go to for pudding w
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I took the advice of some of the other posters. I swapped out 1/2 of the milk for heavy cream, and replaced the 3 whole eggs with 6 egg yolks. The pudding was awesome. At first I had a hard time getting it to thicken, but when I raised the temperature slightly (from 3 to 4 on my electric cooktop) it thickened nicely. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
My husband is the banana pudding lover, and it wasn't sweet enough for him, and I didn't like the color of the pudding after it set. It just didn't have "the umph" that he was expecting. followed recipe right to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sugarplum
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I was looking for a banana pudding recipe made from scratch and I came across this one. I read some of the reviews ahead of time and saw quite a few people had problems with it being too runny. I made sure that I stirred it constantly while it was cooking on the until it was very thick before I removed it from the heat. I crushed the vanilla wafers and layered some on the bottom of the dish followed by a layer of sliced bananas. I sprinkled the top with more crushed vanilla wafers. I ended up using four bananas instead of two. It came out fantastic. My son said it was the best banana pudding he had ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugarplum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
This was a excellent recipe. Instead of using the store bought vanilla wafers, i used this recipe and made my own. http://allrecipes.com/recipe/vanilla-wafer-cookies-that-are-better-than-storebought/detail.aspx It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plum Grove, Texas, USA
Living In: Diboll, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This was exactly the recipe I was looking for.....an old fashioned banana pudding from my childhood. This made a very large banana pudding after I put it together with 3 medium bananas and two layers of vanilla wafers. I mixed the dry ingredients in a microwave-safe mixing bowl, then I whisked the eggs and 2 cups of milk (skim -- all I had on hand) and vanilla. I poured the well whisked egg-milk mixture through a sieve into the dry mixture to filter any little particles that might lump. Once I had whisked the entire pudding until well mixed, I placed it in the microwave oven and cooked on high for 2 minutes. Took it out and whisked well, then put it back for 2 more minutes. I whisked it well again, and because it was thickening, I microwaved 1 minute at a time, whisking well after each minute until it reached the desired consistency. I layered the bottom of the serving bowl with vanilla wafters, spread a thin layer of pudding, then cut 3 bananas over the layer of pudding. I covered the bananas with the remainder of the pudding and then covered the top with vanilla wafers. I used HOMEMADE vanilla wafers from a little local bakery near us...Slatonbakery.com. Delicious and so easy! (Warning: The pudding will thicken around the edges first, but if you whisk well each time, it will be smooth and will not have lumps.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Pudding IV

See how to make a luscious and creamy no-bake dessert!

Banana Pudding

See how to make delicious no-bake banana pudding from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States