Banana Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I've made this twice in the last three days. It's delicious! I didn't have instant banana pudding, so I used vanilla. I also used a different icing, here it is: 8 ounces cream cheese 4 tablespoons butter 2 1/2 cups icing sugar 2 teaspoons vanilla 1. Soften cheese and butter. 2. Beat well. 3. Add sugar and vanilla. 4. Beat again. 5. Spread on cooled cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
The cake itself is fine...moist, with nice banana flavor. It tastes just like banana bread. The glaze is not a good accompaniment. It's too sugary sweet. A cream cheese frosting would work better. This was good, but I probably wouldn't make it again. I'd rather just make some banana bread loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
super easy and super de-lish which makes it 5 star in my book any day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
very easy to make. i used 3 bananas to give it extra banana flavor. super moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I added the 1/2 C nuts to the cake batter. This was a very easy way to "dress up" a box cake. Really good with cream cheese frosting. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LALAWLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taylor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
My family loved this cake. I will definitely make it again! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I needed a quick dessert for a last minute dinner. This was a hit. Everyone loved it and asked for seconds. The entire 9x13 cake was gone. I used 1 cup of banana instead of 3/4. I also added 1 tsp of baking soda, 1 tsp of vanilla and 1/4 cup of spiced rum. This cake was so light and fluffy and soooo delicious. A nice change from the denser muffins and breads I usually make with bananas. I sprinkled it with powdered sugar due to lack of time, next time I might try it with a cream cheese frosting sprinkled with chopped nuts. Thanks for a great, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
I make this cake all the time for family functions and I ALWAYS get compliments on it. I make the glaze a lot thinner because the cake is really so good that you don't need a lot of icing on it. Icing the cake as thick as the picture shows doesn't add anything to the cake except calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I got this recipe last Thursday and decided to surprise my family for Labor day! Boy, were they deliciously surprised. They really enjoyed the flavor which all said it tasted very much like banana pudding. It was really easy to make. For the frosting, I simply opted to dust the cake with powdered sugar lightly. I make/sell cakes and from our gathering, I have four orders already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Very, very disappointed. I was so looking forward to making this cake. Because of many good reviews, I was certain that it would be a hit. Well, was it not only just a cake that tasted like banana bread. The glaze (per recipe) was so sickeningly sweet, I had to brush my teeth just to get the taste out of my mouth. I followed this recipe to a "T", so I know I made no mistakes to the original. I don't know, maybe if I had used cream cheese frosting, as some other people did, I may have been happy with it. But as it stands right now, I will not waste my time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States