Banana Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This was a moist cake, as expected with a cake mix plus pudding mix. The only change I made was to increase the mashed bananas to 1 c and add mini chocolate chips. I did not frost it. However, the flavour tastes artificial, like a grocery store banana cream pie flavour, not like real banana. I wonder if it would taste better with a vanilla pudding mix so the mashed banana could stand out? It was easy, but I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Really a great cake if you like banana pudding! I used 2 medium sized bananas (which was more than 3/4 cup but I was trying to use them up), baked in a 9X13, and used the CoolWhip/vanilla pudding/milk/vanilla frosting in place of the frosting in the recipe. Crushed up some vanilla wafers and sprinkled them on top and it was pretty. Even better tasting the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
In this house, brown bananas means banana pudding cake. The only change that I make is to use applesauce instead of the oil. There is very littlt oil to begin with and this subtle change reduces the fat and calories with no noticeable flavor change. This cake is so moist and keeps for a few days very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Very yummy desert! I modified this some and it was great, I only had 3 eggs, so I used 1 cup of applesauce in place of the egg and oil. I also used 2 mashed bananas - which I think was more than 3/4 a cup. I made it as a sheet cake and then put crumbled nilla wafers on top of the icing (to make it seem more like banana pudding). I also had to use more water in my icing and make more than specified because it was a sheet cake and needed to cover not just drizzle. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
My family raved about this...made exactly to directions...thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Gandee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
LOVED THE CAKE.I DID USE THE BIG BOX OF BANANA PUDDING MIX AND ADDED EXTRA BANANAS..TIP.. TO CUT SOME OF THE CALORIES, USE CANNED PUMPKIN IN PLACE OF THE OIL.I NEVER USE OIL ANYMORE FOR ANY CAKE..NEVER EVEN MISS THE OIL..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This cake is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Very Good!! Did not last long at my house! Although I opted not to make the icing I just topped with powdered sugar. Made in a bundt pan and turned out very nice. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
This is a family favorite and a big hit every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saj071004

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I made this cake for a Company potluck this past Monday, and it was a hit! I made it in a 9X13 pan. It was easy to make, and people liked the fact that it wasn't too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States