Banana Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I gave this a five because I changed it a little. I used a banana cake mix and added diced banana (in addition to the mashed banana) and walnuts to the cake mix. I think it would not have much of a banana taste with the yellow cake mix. It was moist and had a moderate banana taste. I baked in a 9x13 pan. You do not want to overcook!!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinKaren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This cake was super moist! Followed some other reviews and added a cream cream icing. I also used the glaze but I poked small holes in the cake and drizzled the icing into the holes and over the cake then I topped with the cream cheese icing...Made this for Thanksgiving....no leftovers!! LOL Thanks Barbara!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Easy, super moist and delicious. I had two minor changes - I used vanilla pudding because that is all I had and I used 3 very ripe bananas - still delicious. I didn't need all the glaze. I still had about 1/3 left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Nothing to write home about. Sorry>>>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JayMDee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marion, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I liked the simplicity of this dessert but I did a few things different. I used cinnamon applesauce instead of oil, I used vanilla pudding instead of banana, I had a lot of bananas to use so I used 5 almost a full bunch, and I omitted the icing listed and used the pudding/coolwhip topping. The cake all by itself was just ok for me, it was very moist from the pudding and all the bananas. my husband asked if it was cooked enough, and yes it was hence a pudding cake. But what really made this cake for me was the pudding/coolwhip icing. I would definitely make it again because I was able to use alot of bananas and it was really tasty with the pudding icing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aycfoodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
This was easy, fast and wonderful. I only modified it by three things. I made cupcakes instead of a bundt cake (only because thats what my husband prefers) I used 1 cup of bananas, and I added chocolate chips. I probably won't do that again though. They all sunk to the bottom. But this was absolutely wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherri497

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Shelburne, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This was a moist cake, as expected with a cake mix plus pudding mix. The only change I made was to increase the mashed bananas to 1 c and add mini chocolate chips. I did not frost it. However, the flavour tastes artificial, like a grocery store banana cream pie flavour, not like real banana. I wonder if it would taste better with a vanilla pudding mix so the mashed banana could stand out? It was easy, but I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Really a great cake if you like banana pudding! I used 2 medium sized bananas (which was more than 3/4 cup but I was trying to use them up), baked in a 9X13, and used the CoolWhip/vanilla pudding/milk/vanilla frosting in place of the frosting in the recipe. Crushed up some vanilla wafers and sprinkled them on top and it was pretty. Even better tasting the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
In this house, brown bananas means banana pudding cake. The only change that I make is to use applesauce instead of the oil. There is very littlt oil to begin with and this subtle change reduces the fat and calories with no noticeable flavor change. This cake is so moist and keeps for a few days very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Very yummy desert! I modified this some and it was great, I only had 3 eggs, so I used 1 cup of applesauce in place of the egg and oil. I also used 2 mashed bananas - which I think was more than 3/4 a cup. I made it as a sheet cake and then put crumbled nilla wafers on top of the icing (to make it seem more like banana pudding). I also had to use more water in my icing and make more than specified because it was a sheet cake and needed to cover not just drizzle. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States