Banana Prune Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
These are very good--moist and flavourful. I will def. make again, may try dates instead of prunes but the prunes were fine. Forgot to share the Weight Watcher points! 4 points per muffin. Thanks Lisa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
delicious. moist and soft good banana flavour. not at all chewy. sneaky way to get kids to eat something at least resembling fruit. Also another big hit with the ladies at church.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Irvine, Ayrshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Excellent! Prunes are not easy to get children to eat but these were great! A little butter and yum! I added a little extra cinnamon. I think next time I may add some more spices for fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLIIZZZ07

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
These are fabulous. Fantastic muffins.. I followed the recipe to a T..the only thing i altered was that i didnt use the full amount of the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon part.. i left back perhaps 3 tablespoons.. It wasnt necessary else the muffins would have been too dry BUt..! this recipe is a definite keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
I'm not normally a prune eater, but I accidentally bought a box of prunes instead of raisins, so...I made these muffins and they were WONDERFUL! My husband and children thought they were scrumptious and they didn't turn up their nosees because they were eating prunes. I have made them a couple of times now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
The name will turn your guests off, but I guarantee that they'll eat two. I made mini-muffins, and they came out great. I used half of the sugar, and I didn't cut up the date enough. Next time, I'll cut them into smaller pieces so that the prune taste isn't so overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
Great Flavor! I made a few changes-applesauce for the oil, no salt, no baking soda, salt free baking powder, only used 1/4cup white flour-substituting 10 grain, whole wheat, oat bran and wheat germ for the remainder. I also added extra banana-using only very ripe ones. I also used only 1/4cup sugar. They were great. The whole family loves them. I may try next time to use less sugar since the fruits are very sweet alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I use this often, too bad prunes have such a poor acceptence, they are so very nutritious. I always use half white whole wheat and half non-bromated unbleached flour. They are great for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I sat these on the counter to cool, came back, and my husband (who hates bananas and prunes)had eaten 3 already. He thought the prunes were raisins. I didn't change a thing in the recipe; they're quite good as is. I used paper liners and they peeled right off. I will definitely make these again. Next time I'll try using a little of the flour when chopping the prunes. They are so sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I love this recipe. I'm not big on banana cakes so I didn't add as many bananas & it still turned out pretty moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mari, Florence

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States