Banana Prune Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I made a no-sugar version that turned out really well. Here's how you can do it: put 10 prunes in a measuring cup and fill with water to the 3/4 cup level. Microwave for 3-4 minutes until boiling and then let it sit for 5 minutes. Puree this and use it instead of the sugar. I also reduced the oil to just 2 Tbs. The muffins were light and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatcookdream

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
Great Flavor! I made a few changes-applesauce for the oil, no salt, no baking soda, salt free baking powder, only used 1/4cup white flour-substituting 10 grain, whole wheat, oat bran and wheat germ for the remainder. I also added extra banana-using only very ripe ones. I also used only 1/4cup sugar. They were great. The whole family loves them. I may try next time to use less sugar since the fruits are very sweet alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
I'm not normally a prune eater, but I accidentally bought a box of prunes instead of raisins, so...I made these muffins and they were WONDERFUL! My husband and children thought they were scrumptious and they didn't turn up their nosees because they were eating prunes. I have made them a couple of times now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
The dough seemed quite hard and gloopy when I put these in muffin papers, and so I cooked them for 25 minutes and let them cool. I bit into one this morning with caution as they seemed a bit weird, but they tasted really good! Appearances can be deceiving! I guess maybe next time I will add some more banana, as looking back I realised I had only put one banana in as opposed to one cup, whoops. They were still really good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Photo by iluvpickles
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Carefully followed recipe except added a bit more vanilla extract. I hand mixed everything so I wouldn't overmix. A good recipe to use up over ripe bananas and unwanted prunes. Nice banana flavor. Very pretty presentation with all the cracks on the top. Fine crumb texture - lovely! Because I like my baked goods sweet - I might add more sugar next time. Only complaint - prunes really stick to your teeth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iluvpickles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Makakilo, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
SO good and SO simple. Definitely dredged your chopped prunes in flour to prevent sinking - I did and it was nice to have the prunes evenly distributed for eating :-) Kids devoured these as well. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aswright1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allen Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
These are very good--moist and flavourful. I will def. make again, may try dates instead of prunes but the prunes were fine. Forgot to share the Weight Watcher points! 4 points per muffin. Thanks Lisa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KANLAN
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Wow, how impressive is this recipe! I bought a large pack of prunes only to find my kids no longer liked them. This worked perfect! The only thing I did different was added 2 tsp cinnamon and 3/4 cup chocolate chips but everything else was the same. And I finely chopped the prunes (to stop them sticking in teeth like one reviewer said happened) like I would herbs. This is a deceptive recipe cause you see prune and think 'uh, no' but you CANNOT taste the prunes and have passed the kid and hubby test! FABULOUS! I also doubled the recipe and got 22 muffins. Totally using again and dare anyone to give it a go ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KANLAN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Kids loved it! I found it a little bland but I am slowly moving away from processed foods. I imagine it will be some time before I will really be able to taste the goodness of what I am baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evansrabbitranch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Clinton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I made a few changes: subbed whole wheat flour for half the white flour; subbed half the sugar with Splenda;cut the prunes to 1/2 cup and dredged the pieces in some of the flour; increased the cinnamon to 3/4 tsp. Delicious and less calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States