Banana Prune Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I thought these muffins were quite good but not mind-blowingly so. Although they were very moist and tender, they didn't go down a storm with my team of dedicated eaters, and I had to put several uneaten muffins into the bin as a result. (I think it was their passive aggressive way of telling me not to adulterate the sacrosanct banana muffin.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Wonderful!!!I made these muffins 2 days ago,doubled the recipe and froze them. We can thaw them in the microwave for 15 seconds. My family loves them for snacks and a quick breakfast. Wouldn't change a thing. Thank you Lisa. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
We found these muffins to be bland, not very tasty. I did like using the prunes. I told my kids they were plums. I highly recommend cutting them into tiny pieces as a previous reviewer mentioned. I followed the recipe exactly as written. All in all, they weren't bad just not good enough to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
I made the muffins this afternoon and they were outstanding!They are very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hesperia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Made bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna McGuire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I made a no-sugar version that turned out really well. Here's how you can do it: put 10 prunes in a measuring cup and fill with water to the 3/4 cup level. Microwave for 3-4 minutes until boiling and then let it sit for 5 minutes. Puree this and use it instead of the sugar. I also reduced the oil to just 2 Tbs. The muffins were light and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatcookdream

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I always look for ways to make healthier versions: I omitted the sugar entirely as the fruit is sweet enough for me, subbed applesauce for oil, 2 tbsp egg whites instead of egg, added a spoon of plain non-fat yogurt, 1 C spelt flour and 1/2 C whole wheat pastry flour instead of all-purpose, increased baking powder to 1&1/4 tsp, dash more baking soda, increased cinnamon to 1/2 tsp, added 1 tbsp of flax, baked 20 min :) After muffins cool, I put them in the fridge overnight then wrap each one in clingfilm and put them in a Ziploc bag in the freezer - take a muffin out night before for a morning muffin on the run or take it out of the freezer and put it in your lunch bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KMarie
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
This was easy to make, whipped it up all by hand. Stuck to recipe with the exception of adding 2oz. of walnut pieces with the diced prunes. Used PAM No-Stick Cooking Spray with a dusting of flour on bottom of loaf pans, baked for 25 mins, cooled for a few mins and then turned loaf pan over onto cookie sheet. Loafs are moist, not too sweet but very yummy with the prunes and added crunch of the walnuts. We sliced into the warm loafs, added butter to our pieces and were delighted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wellington, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Not delicious, but good. I'm always searching for new foods that sneak in multiple fruits or vegies my kids otherwise would't touch. My only substition was to use 1 cup wheat flour and 1/2 cup white flour. The previous reviewers were right - small children think the prunes are raisins. My raisin hater would't touch the muffins and my raisin lover wolfed them down thinking she was eating raisins. Also be sure to chop the prunes in small pieces - they are very sticky and tend to clump together. Thanks for sharing a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This has become a favorite recipe. I like the recipe as is, but sometimes, for variety, I use ½ walnut oil & ½ canola oil and add walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States