Banana Prune Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
I made the muffins this afternoon and they were outstanding!They are very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hesperia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Made bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna McGuire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I made a no-sugar version that turned out really well. Here's how you can do it: put 10 prunes in a measuring cup and fill with water to the 3/4 cup level. Microwave for 3-4 minutes until boiling and then let it sit for 5 minutes. Puree this and use it instead of the sugar. I also reduced the oil to just 2 Tbs. The muffins were light and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatcookdream

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I always look for ways to make healthier versions: I omitted the sugar entirely as the fruit is sweet enough for me, subbed applesauce for oil, 2 tbsp egg whites instead of egg, added a spoon of plain non-fat yogurt, 1 C spelt flour and 1/2 C whole wheat pastry flour instead of all-purpose, increased baking powder to 1&1/4 tsp, dash more baking soda, increased cinnamon to 1/2 tsp, added 1 tbsp of flax, baked 20 min :) After muffins cool, I put them in the fridge overnight then wrap each one in clingfilm and put them in a Ziploc bag in the freezer - take a muffin out night before for a morning muffin on the run or take it out of the freezer and put it in your lunch bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KMarie
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
This was easy to make, whipped it up all by hand. Stuck to recipe with the exception of adding 2oz. of walnut pieces with the diced prunes. Used PAM No-Stick Cooking Spray with a dusting of flour on bottom of loaf pans, baked for 25 mins, cooled for a few mins and then turned loaf pan over onto cookie sheet. Loafs are moist, not too sweet but very yummy with the prunes and added crunch of the walnuts. We sliced into the warm loafs, added butter to our pieces and were delighted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wellington, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Not delicious, but good. I'm always searching for new foods that sneak in multiple fruits or vegies my kids otherwise would't touch. My only substition was to use 1 cup wheat flour and 1/2 cup white flour. The previous reviewers were right - small children think the prunes are raisins. My raisin hater would't touch the muffins and my raisin lover wolfed them down thinking she was eating raisins. Also be sure to chop the prunes in small pieces - they are very sticky and tend to clump together. Thanks for sharing a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This has become a favorite recipe. I like the recipe as is, but sometimes, for variety, I use ½ walnut oil & ½ canola oil and add walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
After the holidays, I had some prunes to use up and this looked like a good recipe to try. I also had about 3/4 cup chopped cranberries (from frozen) that I was planning to use for bread or cookies, but decided not to make at this time. I ended up putting the cranberries, less than a tablespoon of orange zest and two tablespoons of orange juice into the mixture. I started to measure the mashed bananas (two medium bananas) but it looked like it came to just over a cup so I used it all. Thinking the cranberries might make the mixture too tart, I added another 1/8 cup of sugar. I meant to add 1/2 cup of walnuts, but forgot. They turned out great. Some might like sweeter muffins. The nuts with the ingredients I used would have made them perfect. My rating is for the adjusted recipe but I think the original which gave me the base would have been great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I just made this recipe and it was excellent. I substituted dates instead of prunes and add more cinnamon...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glenof

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I was excited to try this recipe, as I love bananas and prunes. The batter seemed much thicker and stickier than most muffins I've made, but they came out wonderful--dense and moist, not chewy. I 'healthified' the recipe by using 1 c. white whole wheat flour & 1/2 c. all-purp flour, and I also decreased the sugar to 1/4 c and used brown sugar instead of white. I added 1/2 c. chopped walnuts for the great fat they provide. Next time I'll try adding wheat bran and substituting honey for the sugar ... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States