Banana Prune Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
These are just OK...pretty bland. I don't think I'll be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I don't make many banana muffins but this recipe is very, very good - most we haven't cared for. Again, it is not fair to rate a recipe that has been drastically changed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Very nice muffins. I didn't have prunes so I used currants, although I wish I had prunes to try with this! Still, the muffins are very good. Sweet from the fruit and flavorful. They are a little dense but I like them that way. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I made this hoping it would be something I could fix for a client that does not like prunes as much as I do. Wellllll it was AWESOME. I was so surprised when I went to take a bite I was prepared to gag and spit it out. I ended up eating another. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
The whole family, (4, 2, & hubby) enjoyed. Great flavour combo! Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Really like this recipe. It's not that they're not moist but they are a bit rubbery. It may be because I substituted applesauce for the oil but I've done that in many other muffin recipes without any issues. The texture doesn't bother me though and they were great! I highly recommend them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I have three nuggets of advice: If that box of avoided prunes in your pantry are hard as rocks- don't fret. Before adding to this recipe, cover with water in a sauce pan, bring to boil, allow to sit and plump, then drain (but save the juice- it'll be good for something). They will add up to more than 1 C after plumping, but that didn't mess up the recipe for me. I just added some extra wheat germ and flax seed and it was perfectly moist (added plus of extra nutrients). SECOND: If- like me- you didn't read the label when you bought your prunes they have pits, don't fret. Its easy. Using either a knife, or a clean thumb, slip it down along the pit and squish it out. THIRD: I know this is good as-is, :) but, being a chocolate lover, I added 1 T coco powder, and pressed in 3 chocolate chips on the top of each one. MMM. Try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I thought these muffins were quite good but not mind-blowingly so. Although they were very moist and tender, they didn't go down a storm with my team of dedicated eaters, and I had to put several uneaten muffins into the bin as a result. (I think it was their passive aggressive way of telling me not to adulterate the sacrosanct banana muffin.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Wonderful!!!I made these muffins 2 days ago,doubled the recipe and froze them. We can thaw them in the microwave for 15 seconds. My family loves them for snacks and a quick breakfast. Wouldn't change a thing. Thank you Lisa. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
We found these muffins to be bland, not very tasty. I did like using the prunes. I told my kids they were plums. I highly recommend cutting them into tiny pieces as a previous reviewer mentioned. I followed the recipe exactly as written. All in all, they weren't bad just not good enough to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States