Banana Prune Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Staci H.
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
These are delicious! I only used 1 large banana, and I added 1/3 of a cup toasted almonds, 1/4 cup milk, 2 tablespoons sour cream, 1 teaspoon almond extract , 1 tablespoon of ground almonds and 1/2 a teaspoon more baking powder. Although with the almond flavorings, I didn't use the cinnamon. Next time I may try supplementing something else for the prunes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I tried this today for the residents where I work...very good! I used applesauce instead of oil...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I made these in the hopes that my toddler would have a quick (high fiber) breakfast on the way to the gym. Omitting the sugar, I used the prune syrup (as recommended in previous reviews) by microwaving prunes in water then pureeing them. I also cut up other prunes and dredged them in flour. I only used 2 TBSP of oil. Cinnamon is awesome, so I added a very generous amount. Lastly, I blended rolled oats in my blender and substituted about 3/4 cup of the all purpose flour with this. I baked 22 minutes, but could have done 21. I was out of toothpicks. They were still very moist and my toddler and 10 month old LOVED them! They stuck a little to the paper liners I used, but not too bad. We will be making these again. I may even substitute applesauce for the oil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Excellent recipe. I took others advice and dusted the prunes with flour to keep them from sinking to the bottom of the tin. They have a nice banana flavor and are moist and fairly dense. I don't understand the "bland" comments at all. This muffins are nice balance of flavor in my humble opinion. Great way to use up overly ripe bananas and you get a bit of fiber from the prunes. Thanks, for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
A good way to use the dried prunes. I would cut up the prunes even smaller next time. The kids noticed the difference from raisins, and it was not his favorite. I'm going to add more spices next time too....nutmeg, cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
We are totally in to muffins just like this one. In keeping with my usual muffin-making, I did change this up just a bit----but still keeping with the original recipe. I used 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour as part of the flour, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, half brown and half white sugar, and dried plums (is there a difference with plums and prunes?). We will like having these with our morning coffee. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
It is good. I made like three loves of it because we didn't have a big enough pan for this whole recipe. I used this recipe without doubling it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Winfield, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
very good. Love the moistness. Don't flour the muffin pan next time. use paper cups
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Trying to make some quick and reasonably healthy breakFASTs. Had some prunes on hand and found this recipe. I susbstituted apple sauce for most of the oil and soaked my prunes in orange juice before adding. I don't think I had the full cup of prunes nor did I have enough banana but it seemed to work out. Overall they were bland but certainly edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Regional Municipality Of Niagara, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States