Banana Pound Cake With Caramel Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
OMG this recipe came out sooooo good after my modifications. I was hooked from the first bite! I halved the recipe and used: whole wheat flour instead of regular, organic cane sugar instead of white sugar , Extra virgin olive oil instead of veggie shortening,and soy milk instead of regular milk I ommited the pecans because they were not available at the time. I also put the cakes in two buttered aluminum loave pans since I did not have any bundt pans. I was expecting a catastrophe since when I was mixing the butters and sugars the olive oil floated a bit on top but in the end I got this beautiful delicious pound cake like dessert drizzled with tasty caramel sauce. The sauce was so good I see myself making it to coincide with some apples! This recipe is so easy and can be very great for events like garnishing with strawberries or bananas and leaving a bowl of caramel glaze in the middle, yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary8810002

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: North Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I made this last night for my birthday. This is one of the best banana cakes ever, and the carmel sauce was really wonderful. My son does not like nuts so I just omited them and sprinkled them on half of the top of the cake after I glazed it. Absolutely wonderful. I will definately be making this again.. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
absolutley the best! Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swaneeramsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Not really a pound cake. Nice and moist. I didn't have brown sugar so I used white sugar and it was fine. I also cheated because it was a busy day and used Smuckers Caramel Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parkville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovebaking
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Awesome cake - easy to make. I only made 1 change. After making the glaze, I added about 1/4 cup of Praline Liquor to the glaze, poked holes in the cake and spooned the glaze over bottom and let it sit for about 10 minutes, turned it out and poked additional holes and added rest of glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Very good, I received many remarks about how wonderful it was. A nice change from traditional banana bread. I followed the recipe as far as the ingredients go. I baked it in a bundt cake pan and it rose above the rim of the pan. It also took 1 hr and 35min in my oven to finish baking. I allowed the cake to cool for the 10 min in the pan then turned it out onto a cooling rack. Then I used a spoon to slowly drizzle the glaze over the entire cake. It turned out very nice and pretty. Very moist! Make sure to allow to cool completely before covering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa Watson
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I made this in a bundt cake pan, I didn't change a thing and it was delicious! I will make this again for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Watson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Amazing cake! Make sure to mix this in a very large mixing bowl. Also while baking, it came over the top of the bundt pan just a bit so I put a pan underneath it. Next time (and there will be a next time) I may put some in a small bread pan so it won't spill over. I took the advice of another and put the caramel glaze over the cake after I took it out of the pan. Do NOT skip the home-made caramel glaze! Absolutely wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
EXC. as is or, xchg milk 4 sour cream incs white sugar add nutmeg & cinn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Very good made as is.A very moist cake, but I would not call it a pound cake--still delicious! I skipped the caramel glaze and served it with sliced bananas, strawberries and hot fudge sauce--it was excellent!! Will try the glaze next time.This was a great ending to an early spring grilled BBQ meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States