Banana Pound Cake With Caramel Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
OMG this recipe came out sooooo good after my modifications. I was hooked from the first bite! I halved the recipe and used: whole wheat flour instead of regular, organic cane sugar instead of white sugar , Extra virgin olive oil instead of veggie shortening,and soy milk instead of regular milk I ommited the pecans because they were not available at the time. I also put the cakes in two buttered aluminum loave pans since I did not have any bundt pans. I was expecting a catastrophe since when I was mixing the butters and sugars the olive oil floated a bit on top but in the end I got this beautiful delicious pound cake like dessert drizzled with tasty caramel sauce. The sauce was so good I see myself making it to coincide with some apples! This recipe is so easy and can be very great for events like garnishing with strawberries or bananas and leaving a bowl of caramel glaze in the middle, yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary8810002

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: North Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Very good, I received many remarks about how wonderful it was. A nice change from traditional banana bread. I followed the recipe as far as the ingredients go. I baked it in a bundt cake pan and it rose above the rim of the pan. It also took 1 hr and 35min in my oven to finish baking. I allowed the cake to cool for the 10 min in the pan then turned it out onto a cooling rack. Then I used a spoon to slowly drizzle the glaze over the entire cake. It turned out very nice and pretty. Very moist! Make sure to allow to cool completely before covering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Although this cake was delish, there must have been an error in the recipe when it stated that you should pour the glaze over the cake while still in the pan, at least if you are using a bundt cake like the picture shows. I let the cake cool in the pan for 10 minutes, then turned it over onto a cake dish before I added the glaze. Other than that, it was fantastic, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alicianr67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
was very good, but just a regular cake texture. Someone mentioned it growing over the sides of the bundt pan, and since detest cleaning my oven, I made a bundt pan AND 3 muffins! This was the perfect amount in the 12 cup pan. Rose right up to the top without spilling over. TIP WITH THE SAUCE!!! Boil for 4 minutes. If using the bundt pan, cool and flip the cake onto a plate. Pour 1/4 of the hot sauce on the cake and let the liquid seep in. Let the remaining sauce cool for 15 or 20 minutes until it thickens and then pour the remaining over the cake so it stays where you put it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I made tis cake for my sons 18th birthday. He has given up chocolate for lent. This was perfect. I baked it in a 9x13 pan and it was done in about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hakey246

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Very good flavor - not quite as dense as a pound cake should be, IMO, hence 4 stars from me and not 5. I substituted 2% milk for the heavy cream in the glaze and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovebaking
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Awesome cake - easy to make. I only made 1 change. After making the glaze, I added about 1/4 cup of Praline Liquor to the glaze, poked holes in the cake and spooned the glaze over bottom and let it sit for about 10 minutes, turned it out and poked additional holes and added rest of glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
absolutley the best! Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swaneeramsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Very tasty cake indeed! There was way too much batter for my bundt pan, so I transferred the rest to a medium-sized loaf pan. The cooking time was much longer than specified, and so I ended up turning the heat up to 350 to get it done a little faster. But I think 325 in the beginning was a good start. Only think I left out was the pecans as many people I serve cake do not like nuts, although I think it needs them. And I left off the glaze and used my own brown sugar caramel glaze/frosting. I actually followed a mixing technique from 'The Cake Bible'. She actually mixes the dry ingredients in the bowl, on low, for 30 seconds, rather than just relying on sifting, and then adds in the butter and part of the wet ingredients all at once. What this does is to help provide a 'coating' for the wheat and prevents the gluten strands from forming too quickly and getting too tough. This keeps a cake fluffy and soft and moist without getting too tough or dry. It works out beautifully. I would agree with others, this cake isn't exactly a pound cake in texture, but it's a lovely cake either way. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Not really a pound cake. Nice and moist. I didn't have brown sugar so I used white sugar and it was fine. I also cheated because it was a busy day and used Smuckers Caramel Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parkville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States