Banana Pound Cake With Caramel Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
best banana cake ever. i almost left out the pecans as i'm not a big fan. i'm glad i didn't. i followed the recipe exactly except for the glaze. i poured some over the cake while it was in the pan and the rest once i turned it out. i tried it while it was still warm. it was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
was very good, but just a regular cake texture. Someone mentioned it growing over the sides of the bundt pan, and since detest cleaning my oven, I made a bundt pan AND 3 muffins! This was the perfect amount in the 12 cup pan. Rose right up to the top without spilling over. TIP WITH THE SAUCE!!! Boil for 4 minutes. If using the bundt pan, cool and flip the cake onto a plate. Pour 1/4 of the hot sauce on the cake and let the liquid seep in. Let the remaining sauce cool for 15 or 20 minutes until it thickens and then pour the remaining over the cake so it stays where you put it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Very tasty cake indeed! There was way too much batter for my bundt pan, so I transferred the rest to a medium-sized loaf pan. The cooking time was much longer than specified, and so I ended up turning the heat up to 350 to get it done a little faster. But I think 325 in the beginning was a good start. Only think I left out was the pecans as many people I serve cake do not like nuts, although I think it needs them. And I left off the glaze and used my own brown sugar caramel glaze/frosting. I actually followed a mixing technique from 'The Cake Bible'. She actually mixes the dry ingredients in the bowl, on low, for 30 seconds, rather than just relying on sifting, and then adds in the butter and part of the wet ingredients all at once. What this does is to help provide a 'coating' for the wheat and prevents the gluten strands from forming too quickly and getting too tough. This keeps a cake fluffy and soft and moist without getting too tough or dry. It works out beautifully. I would agree with others, this cake isn't exactly a pound cake in texture, but it's a lovely cake either way. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish Bakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This cake is EXCELLENT! I added pure vanilla extract out of habit and I only had 3 bananas on hand, so that is what I used. I didn't add the nuts. The cake is soooo good and even better the next day! Don't omit the caramel glaze because it is delectable and it is what makes this cake so special!! Will definitely be a staple in my home! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Awesome recipe! I have made this several times and it always turns out perfect even when I have had to make substitutions. I have been short and egg, or short a banana, added spices or not added spices, used the caramel glaze or a chocolate one or no glaze at all...whether I follow the recipe exactly or change things it's always delicious! I use this recipe for banana bread and cakes now and it is always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This was a fantastic use for surplus bananas! I baked it in an angel food pan after reading how much it made and it worked out great! Everyone loved the glaze on it too! definitely a keeper in my recipe files!! Thank you, Swanee, for sharing this wonderful recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Petre Osborn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
With out the glaze, it's basically a dense banana bread - so don't omit the glaze! This got *rave* reviews served within 5 or 6 hours of coming out of the oven. After a night in the fridge, however, the remainder surprisingly lost its appeal. Definitely will serve it only warm/fresh in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I had never heard of banana pound cake but let me say it was the best cake I ever made. It was moist and delish I had five bananas on hand so I used them all I also added cinnamon, nutmeg, cream of tartar and mace. it was wonderful. thanks for the recipe Swanee!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I agree with Alician, can't add all the sauce this makes to the bottom of a bundt cake. Change: make the sauce after the cake comes out, and pour most of it over the top. Good otherwise, I am eating a piece right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara P

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, New York, USA
Living In: Wiscasset, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Made this cake for my brother's birthday. Followed the recipe but omitted the nuts and only had 3 ripe bananas. I prepared the non-stick bundt pan as directed, yet it got stuck. After getting it out and some places ripped, I was able to piece them back together. Poured the glaze on top instead of in the pan to cover the torn pieces. The cake was good, but not spectacular. The glaze tasted better than the cake which was a must on this cake. I thought it was ok. My family and relatives liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States