Banana Pound Cake With Caramel Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I made this cake tonight & it was AWESOME!!! However, the glaze could be a little thicker...will add a little more sugar next time. Other than that...YUMMMM!!! :d
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewater, Maryland, USA
Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This is a great recipe! I followed the instructions to the letter and the banana cake was perfect. It has the taste of banana bread but it is a fluffy cake. I will make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I made and brought it to work. My boss told me to quit my job and open a bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
What a perfectly delicious recipe! Other than adding one teaspoon cinnamon to my dry ingredients, I followed the cake recipe as written. It was done in 1 hour and 20 minutes. I cooled the cake in the pan for 10 minutes and on a cooling rack for 10 minutes before adding the glaze. The only change I made to the glaze was I didn't add the vanilla until it was removed from the heat. This, I"m sure, is from habit. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This was good but didn't strike me as pound cake, just tasted like banana bread. it was tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I ended up with WAY too much batter for a bundt pan, so my oven is a little messy now...! What I ended up with was pretty tasty, though. I used chocolate chips instead of pecans because one of the people I was making it for has a nut allergy. Also, I didn't use the glaze because the cake was really sweet on its own. If I ever make this again, I think I'll use half as much brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Excellent cake that ages very well--it gets moister in the following days. Made the cake several times and have found the following: 1) The pan matters! The tube pan makes a superior cake versus a bundt pan. The cake is distributed more evenly in the tube pan. Additionally, applying the glaze is done more effectively on a cake from a tub pan as the top is flat and the glaze sets up better. 2) Let both the the glaze and cake cool before applying the glaze. If you apply the glaze when either the cake or glaze is hot than the glaze will essentially seep into the cake (ie, there will really be no glaze). 3) If you want some of the glaze inside the cake than I recommend put holes throught the top of the cake to about an inch from the bottom of the cake. I found a chopstick to be the perfect size--the hole is big enough to poor glaze into but not so big you cannot cover it up with very cool glaze. Note: save a small amount of glaze for plugging the holes--the glaze should almost be a dough-like consistency to plug the holes. 4) Lastly, ignore the part of the directions about pouring the glaze over the cake while still in pan--you will left with a cake where most of the glaze seeps into the top of the cake and becomes indistinguishable from the cake itself (if done while warm). The cake is more appeasing with a visable glaze on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This cake is so unbelievable moist and just taste great! I changed my recipie up a little: instead of 2 cups of brown sugar and 1 cup of white sugar I used 3 cups of white and added a teaspoon of allspice it was great and I did not even make the icing..........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I absolutely loved this cake! I made this for my mother-in-law for her birthday. She loved it! I specifically enjoyed the carmel glaze and have used it on other cakes since then. I love the denseness of the pound cake too. It could be thought of as too heavy by some but I thought it was perfect, allowing the glaze to sink in just enough..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathryn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States