Banana Pound Cake With Caramel Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe. I didn't do the caramel glaze but I baked the cake exactly as the directions say, no modifications. Very moist. I baked the batter in mini 1 cup bundts. I'd say this is more a regular cake consistency, not a pound cake density. Will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLEVANG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Pretty good but I wouldn't consider a Pound Cake, it's a lot lighter. Recipe worked good as mini bundt cakes. I added mini chocolate chips & butter frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Great recipe. Moist and delicious exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I baked this cake, and it came out delicious. I was out of vanilla extract so I used one teaspoon of lemon extract & one teaspoon of almond extract. I also only had one cup of brown sugar so used 2 cups white sugar & 1 cup one brown sugar. The cake still came out delicious minus my substitutions. I also used vegetable oil instead of shortening. I think this recipe is just a no-fail recipe & the whole family loved it!!! Will indeed make again, except next time I'll have all the ingredients on hand. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This cake is awesome! Followd recipe exactly except subbed 1 tbsp praline liqueur for the vanilla in the glaze (I ran out of vanilla!) My husband says he'd give this recipe 10 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
This cake is really good. Mrs B loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Cake tasted fine, but got stuck in the bundt pan. So, I had a mess. I greased and floured the pan just like it said and left it in pan for 10 min. Maybe I should have let it cool 100% before removing. Good thing I had a back up cake for the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I made this and took it to church .Everyone loved it and I have requests for "make it again"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Although this cake was delish, there must have been an error in the recipe when it stated that you should pour the glaze over the cake while still in the pan, at least if you are using a bundt cake like the picture shows. I let the cake cool in the pan for 10 minutes, then turned it over onto a cake dish before I added the glaze. Other than that, it was fantastic, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alicianr67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Very good made as is.A very moist cake, but I would not call it a pound cake--still delicious! I skipped the caramel glaze and served it with sliced bananas, strawberries and hot fudge sauce--it was excellent!! Will try the glaze next time.This was a great ending to an early spring grilled BBQ meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States