Banana Plum Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Love it! Some additions were made: increased brown sugar by 1 more cup, 1/2 tsp salt and added one more cup of plums. Everybody raved about it, this is my 2nd time baking it, very simple, fast and the dish comes out clean in no time. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERIKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ciudad De México, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Living In: Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
The bread to seem turned out well. It was slightly thick but not sweet at all. Could go up on the sugar just a tad. My fruit was very sweet and before I baked the batch of bread, however tasted a tad tart with the overall banana bread. I think The fruit needed to be minced a bit smaller or even pureed. Hubby and son weren't much of a fan but 2 of my children were. Totally needs some tweaking. If plum/pluot fruit left out, is a good banana bread on it's own, however needs to be sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I followed it as closely as possible. (I don't have measuring devices and have to eyeball everything. I also used "all" of my plums which I figure probably came out closer to 2 cups.) I found it to be a bit tart and needed extra time to bake, but that was probably because of the extra plum. I added some extra sugar to the second half of the batter. (I only have a toaster oven.) I'll probably try this again later on. Tart isn't necessarily bad, just not what I was going for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Needs SALT! I used 1/2 tsp, also, as suggested by others, substituted brown sugar for white sugar and added nutmeg, cinnamon, and vanilla. I also included the juice from the fresh plums. Bread is not overly sweet, and turned out moist (in a good way). thumbs up from co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
this should really be called banana plum cake since its in a cake pan. anyway. i took the advice of another reviewer and substituted brown for white sugar, 1/2 cup wheat for part of the white flour, and it was good. my husband liked it much better than i did but i used my plums and that was my objective. i cant quite put my finger on what id do differently next time but ill keep it in the recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
My husband liked it, but I was a little disappointed. It was pretty dense and a little dry, especially compared to the banana bars I make. Next time I need to use up plums, I may just add them to my own recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This is absolutely delicious! I have followed the recipe to the dot, well almost :) I added little cinamon and little vanilla sugar just to give the plums little twist since they react well with both. And it was a treat! It went down so well, my fiance left me only two slices! I will have to bake it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Tastes great! Perfectly moist and very yummy! We were just given about 10lbs of plums and I had to find something to do with them :) I doubled the recipe and we've had it for breakfast and snacks for 3 days and some is in the freezer! The kids loved it and so did my husband, and he doesnt usually like fruit breads. I followed the recipe exactly. The only thing I may do next time is add some nuts if i have them on hand, but the recipe is perfect without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Loved the idea of the plums and bananas as I had both! I did make several changes though: 2 cups flour, 3/4 cup whole wheat flower 2 tsp vanilla Brown sugar instead of white 3/4tsp salt nutmeg and cinammon handful of blueberries (toatally unnecessary just had them) It was really really delicious andlasted only a couple of hours in my house. You could add more sugar if you like sweeter things but we loved it this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States